When to Begin using SQL / MySQL

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by Disgusie, Oct 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Disgusie

I apologize if this question is vague. I am a very new server operator, and could not find this general piece of information here on the forums.

I am running a low end public Ubuntu box (2GB memory) and am very performance conscious because I am budget conscious. I've been learning to java-profile to reduce memory and processor use, and staying away from plugins that eat a lot of CPU and memory.

My question, and this may be too general to answer, is about plugins that support SQL / MySQL. I am comfortable with and capable of setting up and managing a MySQL server on the same box my server is running. Every plugin I have at this time is SQL capable, but does not require it.

Are there any considerations I need to keep in mind before setting up MySQL and switching my plugins over to use it? Is this just a "You should definitely do it if you can." thing, or are there definite pros and cons, e.g memory vs. CPU vs. disk writes trade-offs? Is it possible that my server would be better off sticking to .yml storage until it grows to a particular size, or is .yml mostly inferior?

I know that is a very general question, but I'm looking for a general answer, a rule of thumb. I'll explain some of the plugins I am using or am considering using, in case it helps, but I'm just looking for general opinions if possible. I'm not planning on making any of my own plugins at this time, so this is not really a development question.