Solved What's the purpose of "return true/false"?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by GlacialCreeper, May 5, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

GlacialCreeper

Hello, sorry if I'm in the wrong forum section, but I just started learning Bukkit coding, and on two tutorials I'm learning with, at some point in the boolean onCommand(), one of them uses return true, and the other return false. They both seem to not have any effect on the plugin. So my questions are:
    1. What would be the advantage of using this (having it return true or false)?
    2. Other than if you'd use it for something, does it really matter whether its true or false?
    PS
    I do know that when you have a method-like boolean like this (below), it has to return true or false.
    Code:
    public boolean a(){
    }

2. Offline

Drkmaster83

As far as I know, Bukkit implemented the 'boolean' return into the onCommand method as a way for plugin developer to let Bukkit know if the command was used properly and did not have syntax errors.

However, I think that it's useless, as many people return either one and it was never fully implemented. I guess that when it was first implemented, people were using it incorrectly or were too confused, but I bet it's still there because Bukkit doesn't want to break so many plugins.

Returning true and returning false in the onCommand() honestly should not alter the effects at all.

3. Offline

AoH_Ruthless

Drkmaster83
    I actually like being able to check if the command is executed. Just because you think it's useless doesn't mean it is; to accommodate for what any person might want, no matter how rare, it was a helpful decision to have a boolean return value.

With that said, I completely agree with you in saying that it isn't required to have a great plugin and most developers never actually utilize it.

4. Offline

Necrodoom

5. Offline

Rocoty

6. Offline

Necrodoom