using PacketPlayOutViewDistance in code

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by pomtom44, Jun 4, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

pomtom44

Hi all
    im trying to make a dynamic render distance plugin, and following along with https://github.com/froobynooby/ViewDistanceTweaks
    I found the PlayerViewDistance packet

Disclaimer, im new to packets, so using tutorials and modifying what i know to make it work

I tried to use the same packet method for what i was shown for the tab list manipulation

Code:
    PacketPlayOutPlayerListHeaderFooter packet = new PacketPlayOutPlayerListHeaderFooter();

Object header = new ChatComponentText(ChatColor.translateAlternateColorCodes('&', NewHeader));
    Object footer = new ChatComponentText(ChatColor.translateAlternateColorCodes('&', NewFooter));

Field a = packet.getClass().getDeclaredField("header");
    a.setAccessible(true);
    Field b = packet.getClass().getDeclaredField("footer");
    b.setAccessible(true);
    a.set(packet, header);
    b.set(packet, footer);
    if(Bukkit.getOnlinePlayers().size() != 0) {
       for(Player player : Bukkit.getOnlinePlayers()) {
          ((CraftPlayer) player).getHandle().playerConnection.sendPacket(packet);
       }
    }
    And modified it to be this
    Code:
    int dist = Integer.parseInt(args[0]);
    PacketPlayOutViewDistance packet = new PacketPlayOutViewDistance(dist);
     for(Player p : Bukkit.getOnlinePlayers()){
         ((CraftPlayer) p).getHandle().playerConnection.sendPacket(packet);
      }
    When I run my command I can see the render distance changing, but the moment i send the packet the world stops rendering
    The player can move around, and the chunks unload and re-load but they dont generate new chunks
    as if the players "Chunk" location is set on where they were when the packet was sent