[Solved] How to set a player variable?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by spy_1134, Jun 24, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

spy_1134

I'm currently working on making my first plugin and I'm not very experienced with Bukkit, although I know a bit of Java.

I'm trying to make a command listener set a variable that is checked by another listener.
    The variable will be set on a per-player basis, similar to how some players can have god mode while others do not.

So my question is this:
    Is there any way to set a variable on a player? If so, how is it done?
    Or am I trying to approach this problem from the wrong direction?

The plugin I am making will listen for a command, check permissions, and if the player has permission to use the command, it will set a variable on the sender or specified target of the command.
    Then, when the player triggers another listener, it will check the variable to see whether or not it should do anything.

Thanks in advance,
    spy_1134

2. Offline

Darq

A HashMap is probably what you'd want to use. A HashMap is a set of keys and values, so you can use Player as a key, and whichever you want as a value, depends what you'd like to do.

Example of using a hashmap:
    Code:
    HashMap<Player, Boolean> hm = new HashMap<Player, Boolean>();

public boolean someMethod(Player p) {
      if (hm.containsKey(p)) {
          return hm.get(p);
      }
      return false;
    }

Though, in that case since I'm only checking a boolean, you could use a List object to do the same thing. Having a list of players that have a special condition, and when they lose that condition, you can just remove them from the list.

3. Offline

spy_1134

Thanks for the reply. I also found a page in the API documentation for setting metadata on an object. It looks like that could be used to store this data as well.

Maybe something like this?
    Code:
    player.setMetadata(myvariable, true)

4. Offline

Darq