PUB/SUB Help

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by gamemster2468, Jul 19, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

gamemster2468

Hi there,

I am currently having some trouble with this code:

http://hastebin.com/iyugefemih.java

This is my first time working with redis' PUB/SUB feature, and I don't really know what is happening. There are no stacktraces, it's just, when the plugin enables, it freezes. Yes, I know this is because I am doing it on the main thread, but even if I run it async (Which I have) it still does not work.

Hope someone can help! Thanks

2. Offline

mythbusterma

@gamemster2468

Didn't we go over this before? Don't bother with Redis. I'm pretty sure it just halts waiting for a message.

3. Offline

gamemster2468

@mythbusterma I know we went over this, it's just, you know, seems to me like the best solution as I'm already using redis for some other data that I'm storing.

Hm, interesting point. I can't say that I've heard of that happening, but thanks for your reply!

4. Offline

mythbusterma

@gamemster2468

That's just speculation on my part. I wouldn't take what I say as fact. You'll have to read the documentation of the Jedis to figure that out.

gamemster2468 likes this.
  5. Offline

gamemster2468

@mythbusterma

Alright, so I think it's time to talk about sockets. I just made a simple plugin that sends messages to other servers, like I want it to, without using PUB/SUB and I have to say it's pretty nice. I do have a question, though:

If I try to use the server's port, it says that there is another server on the port. I guess I can kinda understand this, but here is what I don't get: Why can't I just send data to the minecraft server? Why do I have to create a new SocketServer and have to figure out a different port to make sure I don't run into the "Address is already in use"?

I don't know if this really makes sense, hope I explained it somewhat okay.