Problem with adding a delay to PlayerRespawnEvent

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Madenman, Mar 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Madenman

So im trying to code it that when you respawn you get an effect, the problem with this is that while respawning a player cant get an effect because the player itself hasn't spawned in the world yet. To solve this i tried adding a delay to the effect. I just started with coding around 2 Weeks ago, so adding delays is something new for me.
    I looked it up multiple times, searched on forums etc. But i just cant get it to work.
    When you reply please try keeping it simple, so i can understand because i'm new to coding.

This is my code: (One of my attempts to get it working, i also changed the event here to test it easier, in this case it just sends the first message "testv1" but nothing else.)
    Code:
        @EventHandler
            public void onPlayerMove(PlayerMoveEvent event){
                Player player = event.getPlayer();
                player.sendMessage("test v1");
                Bukkit.getScheduler().scheduleSyncDelayedTask((Plugin) event, new Runnable() {
                    public void run() {
                        Bukkit.broadcastMessage("This message is shown after one second");
                        player.sendMessage("test");
                        player.addPotionEffect(new PotionEffect(PotionEffectType.HEALTH_BOOST, Integer.MAX_VALUE, 4, false));                            

}
                }, 20L); //20 Tick (1 Second) delay before run() is called
            }
    edit: some mod edited my post and put his problem here, removed it but his attached image is still there. Dont care to remove it

Attached Files:

Last edited: Mar 14, 2021
  2. Offline

CraftCreeper6

@Madenman
    You are casting your event to Plugin? What?

What's your main class? Pass that into the scheduler instead of (Plugin) event.

3. Offline

Madenman

So I did this: