Optimize JAVA for MineCraft in a EXTREME way :P -- NEED FEEDBACK, THX !! [- I AM BACK -!]

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by Therawroy, Jul 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    Therawroy

    Hi Guys and Girls, I AM BACK !!!!

    first, sorry if my english is not the best, but i am german ;)

    Enough of this nice talk ... we all know why i came back to give you the RealDeal of​
    "ULTIMATE MINECRAFT OPTIMIZING which even NOTCH and ORACLE couldnĀ“t imagne to solve it any possible way ..."
    and why copied so many ppl my commandline on their website / board and didnt mention my name :( ..... shame on you !!! (Dont believe me ... use google)​

    What do you get today ?
    - A command line which will be the first "start" to a "highly optimized Minecraft Server" which will improve "everything" what could be possible to give you the gamefeeling you never dreamed off.

    You talk big words ...
    - As BIG as my MAP with everything a created MAP-Generator could creat and combined with McEdit on a cosmic size of 40000x40000 (i dont mean chunks ... i mean areas) which is about 1.2 GB ..... powered on an 8-CORE / 8 GB / 1500 GB RAID0 Ubuntu x64 CustomKernel / HughPageSizes / JDK1.7.0 with SHARED MEMORY ...........

    Why do you do this ?
    - Because i like the Game and i hate "Java". Yeah i know Java runs everywhere ... but how it runs (badly) .... that will never be discussed.

    I have many plugins, is that a problem ?

    - Tested: "modloader" "ModloaderMP" + PlugIns // SPOUT // bukkit-plugins and works 99,5% without problems
    [SPOUT was tested seperate because of compatibility problems from modloader]


    Is there more to come ?
    - To get the "BEST OPTIMIZING" for Minecraft you need to do much much more. Examples of what i did to my Linux / Minecraft / ... are endless and it took about 2 months to get to the state where i am today with my idea.

    "I can play without worries or performance problems"​
    (the map size in the text above is "Real" )​
    Can i visit your Server with the used Settings ?
    - SOON (tm) ..... really soon​
    -- RULES:
    • I cannot be blamed for anything or everything that will happen when you use my command line.
    • MAKE a BACKUP .... not that Hard ;)
    • Some or many things in this command line will be strange and even produce fear in the eyes of the people in your nearer area ... DONT CHANGE anything IF NOT NEEDED, or you destroy the "idea" of this command line.
    • Maybe you get an ERROR ... try to correct it yourself first .... like i said, i changed soo much stuff, it can be that some Xtensions dont work.
    • If you change too much in this commandline, the effects can be negative ... dont blame me, i said "dont change"
    • Even if you think you have SSE4 instead of SSE3 or i missed something like RAM-Sizes .... "dont change" the commandline.
    • you need JAVA "JDK 1.7.0" and not "JRE 1.7.0" !!!!!
    • VirtualSERVERs may have problems .... i fix this soon !
    COMMAND LINE: (this is one long command line) -- Dont change if not needed !!​

    ionice -c1 -n0 nice -n -10 /usr/lib/jvm/jdk1.7.0/bin/java -Djava.library.path=/usr/lib/jvm/jdk1.7.0/lib/amd64 -d64 -server -XX:+UseG1GC -DJINTEGRA_NATIVE_MODE -DJINTEGRA_COINIT_VALUE=0 -Dsun.io.useCanonCaches=false -Djline.terminal=jline.UnsupportedTerminal -XX:ThreadPriorityPolicy=42 -XX:CompileThreshold=1500 -XX:+TieredCompilation -XX:parallelGCThreads=4 -XX:TargetSurvivorRatio=90 -XX:MaxTenuringThreshold=15 -XX:+UnlockExperimentalVMOptions -XX:+UseAdaptiveGCBoundary -XX:permSize=64M -XX:MaxPermSize=256M -XX:+UseGCOverheadLimit -XX:+UseBiasedLocking -Xnoclassgc -Xverify:none -XX:UseSSE=3 -XX:+UseThreadPriorities -Djava.net.preferIPv4Stack=true -XX:+UseLargePages -XX:+UseStringCache -XX:+OptimizeStringConcat -XX:+UseFastAccessorMethods -Xrs -XX:+UseCompressedOops -XX:+AggressiveOpts -jar craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar nogui

    -- Have Fun and give FEEDBACK .... and dont forget, this command line is only 1 peace of a complete Package ... so stay tuned and watch this Thread ;)

    -- The Smilies are ":" and "P" together ... nasty bug in here ....

    -- The HISTORY Text can help you when you have some minor problems ;)









    - HISTORY.... of what happened -

    For the last 20 days i was experimenting with java 1.7.0 like a chicken on crack. Why you ask ? Because i have only a vServer 32Bit with 6GB RAM .... and NO chance to change it to 64bit :p :p -- Provider sucks, but i change in a few days.

    So to give you some info about my problem:


    [ ALL TESTED AND WORKING ! Dont you believe me ? Send me a PM and i invite you ;) ]

    1x Craftbukkit953+ with 73 MP Plugins and 4 Worlds (world, nether, dungeon, skylands) on Port 9997 and with "dynmap"

    --> AND ! <--

    1x Craftbukkit953 (modded) with 18 MP Plugins and 5 SP Plugins and 1 World (very big skylandtype) on Port 9996

    To avoid the 2GB Memory Problem with 32bit java and Ubuntu, i installed a PAE Kernel .... but to be honest, its crap and not properbly working for JAVA and / or Minecraft. You can change the Memory from Xmx2048 to something like Xmx2548 and it starts .... but it also dies when you reach 2,1 GB RAM

    I even put the whole MAP and PLUGINS and CRAFTBUKKIT into the "tmpfs" Folder (ramfs isnt usable in vServer) to accelerate it .... but its only a small help .... and NO Help for the 2,1GB Problem. [<-- RAMDISK]

    My virtual Server Specs:
    - DualCore AMD Opteron // 4 GB RAM + 2 GB RAM FLEX = 6 GB RAM // 70 GB HDD // 32 Bit Ubuntu 10.04 // 32 Bit Java 1.7.0 [I think its XEN managed]

    --> So you can say its a "crappy" thing for Minecraft .... and yeah i change in a few days BUT i will use the same command line like today.

    --> And PLS dont try this stuff with the Java 1.6 Crap ..... there is a reason why everyone is waiting like hell for it :p ALSO, install it on Windows.
    Why ?? - Because if you play it on Windows you also need JAVA to run the game ;) So why give the Server the better JAVA and you use the Shitty slower performing JAVA ?!?! :p

    Yeah, JAVA 1.7.0 for everyone under:

    http://jdk7.java.net/download.html [Download the JDK-Version NOT JRE-Version for both CLIENT and SERVER]

    [Pls uninstall your old JAVA-Version if you dont know how to change the Versions under Windows AND if you have a 64 Bit OS just install the 64 Bit Version ..... Maybe your Browser or other things will need a 32 Bit JAVA 1.7.0, then you can install it also .....but MineCraft can use the 64 Bit Java and most APPS will use it also !

    RESULTS:
    1x Windows OS with a NEW 32 / 64 Bit JAVA 1.7.0 JDK

    1x Linux or Windows Server with a NEW 32 / 64 Bit JAVA 1.7.0 JDK
    [How to Install JAVA 1.7.0 under UBUNTU ?]

    1x Craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar
    [Or similar Serversoftware (not tested atm) ... in the End its all JAVA]

    1x CommandLine to Start the Server

    UPDATED !!! UPDATED !!! UPDATED !!! UPDATED !!!

    [FOR 32 BIT or vServers with 32 BIT ONLY !] UPDATED
    java -server -Xincgc -Xmx2048M -Xms512M -Xmn256M -XX:NewRatio=2 -XX:CMSFullGCsBeforeCompaction=1 -XX:SoftRefLRUPolicyMSPerMB=2048 -XX:+CMSParallelRemarkEnabled -XX:+UseParNewGC -XX:+UseAdaptiveSizePolicy -XX:+DisableExplicitGC -Xnoclassgc -oss4M -ss4M -XX:+UseFastAccessorMethods -XX:CMSInitiatingOccupancyFraction=60 -XX:+UseConcMarkSweepGC -XX:UseSSE=4 -XX:+UseCMSCompactAtFullCollection -XX:parallelGCThreads=2 -XX:+AggressiveOpts -cp "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" -jar "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" nogui
    [The Smiley means: -XX: ParallelGCThreads <-- all together pls
    Dont forget the "P" instead of "p"]


    [FOR 32 BIT Servers -EXPERIMENTAL- !] UPDATED
    java -native -server -Xincgc -Xmx2048M -Xms512M -Xmn256M -XX:NewRatio=3 -XX:+UseThreadPriorities -XX:CMSFullGCsBeforeCompaction=1 -XX:SoftRefLRUPolicyMSPerMB=2048 -XX:+CMSParallelRemarkEnabled -XX:+UseParNewGC -XX:+UseAdaptiveSizePolicy -XX:+DisableExplicitGC -Xnoclassgc -oss4M -ss4M -XX:+UseFastAccessorMethods -XX:CMSInitiatingOccupancyFraction=90 -XX:+UseConcMarkSweepGC -XX:UseSSE=4 -XX:+UseCMSCompactAtFullCollection -XX:parallelGCThreads=4 -XX:+AggressiveOpts -cp "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" -jar "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" nogui

    [The Smiley means: -XX: ParallelGCThreads <-- all together pls
    Dont forget the "P" instead of "p"]




    [FOR 64 BIT Servers !] UPDATED
    java -native -server -Xincgc -Xmx6144M -Xms2048M -Xmn512M -XX:NewRatio=3 -XX:+UseThreadPriorities -XX:CMSFullGCsBeforeCompaction=1 -XX:SoftRefLRUPolicyMSPerMB=2048 -XX:+CMSParallelRemarkEnabled -XX:+UseParNewGC -XX:+UseAdaptiveSizePolicy -XX:+DisableExplicitGC -Xnoclassgc -oss4M -ss4M -XX:+UseFastAccessorMethods -XX:CMSInitiatingOccupancyFraction=90 -XX:+UseConcMarkSweepGC -XX:UseSSE=4 -XX:+UseCMSCompactAtFullCollection -XX:parallelGCThreads=4 -XX:+AggressiveOpts -cp "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" -jar "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" nogui

    [The Smiley means: -XX: ParallelGCThreads <-- all together pls
    Dont forget the "P" instead of "p"]


    [FOR 64 BIT Servers with Problems !] UPDATED
    java -server -Xincgc -Xmx6144M -Xms2048M -Xmn512M -XX:NewRatio=2 -XX:CMSFullGCsBeforeCompaction=1 -XX:SoftRefLRUPolicyMSPerMB=2048 -XX:+CMSParallelRemarkEnabled -XX:+UseParNewGC -XX:+UseAdaptiveSizePolicy -XX:+DisableExplicitGC -Xnoclassgc -oss4M -ss4M -XX:+UseFastAccessorMethods -XX:CMSInitiatingOccupancyFraction=90 -XX:+UseConcMarkSweepGC -XX:UseSSE=4 -XX:+UseCMSCompactAtFullCollection -XX:parallelGCThreads=4 -XX:+AggressiveOpts -cp "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" -jar "craftbukkit-0.0.1-SNAPSHOT.jar" nogui

    [The Smiley means: -XX: ParallelGCThreads <-- all together pls
    Dont forget the "P" instead of "p"]
    [NOTICE ON THINGS YOU CAN OPTIMIZE]
    -Xmx6144M - The Maximum Amount of RAM you have

    -Xms2048M - The Minimum which the Minecraftserver starts with

    -Xmn512M - NewGarbage Collector Size (dont set too high)

    -XX:UseSSE=4 - Which SSE you use. Maybe you need to set it to "3"

    XX:parallelGCThreads=4 - Set the number to the same amount of Cores in your Server


    -- If you got Problems with the command line, you can also copy it from http://www.mcschematics.com/index.php?topic=5994.0


    Questions ??:

    What is the Result of that long line ?

    - To hold your MEMORY for JAVA as long down and performant as possible, with the fastest method for the GarbageCollector. So you have only the STUFF which is needed in RAM and nothing else ! --> Performance !!!!! and no Lags ( or much much smaller :p ) !!!!!
    Test it with "dynmap fullrender world":

    - 1x run with standard command line = 560MB -> 900MB and getting higher (FIX: Server Restart)

    - 2x run with "my command line" = 560MB -> 621MB and its staying !! (I even rendered 4 Worlds at the same time! And had the same amount of memory !!)


    Why is the -Xms512M so low ?
    - Because its the "starting" Memory which can be used.... why should i give 2 GB from the start if the Memory wont get so full now ? And you have Xmx2048M which is the MAX ... so its dynamically filling.

    What is the -Xmn256M meaning ?
    - Java 1.7 has 2 Garbage Collectors. 1 OLD and 1 YOUNG and this means that the YOUNG Collector gets 256MB RAM. [Dont forget if you have 32 Bit OS that the memory -Xms and -Xmn are together for the RAM amount !! So you can only use 1,7GB for the APP.

    There are sooo many things i dont understand in your command line.... PLS tell me more
    - I will, but not atm :p i wanna give you a try first and await your feedback ! If it works like at my server, we can change it to a nice text ;)

    Can i use this commands in a plugin or anything else ??
    - Its a "command line", so there arent any copyright on it ;) BUT ... it would be nice if you would contact me. Maybe i can help .... and if you dont want to contact me, just put my name in it ;) -Therawroy-

    -- AND PLEASE MAKE A "BACKUP" of your STUFF / WORLD because i dont take any responsability what might happen to your world(s) ;)

    -- You can also "CHANGE" things in the CommandLine. If you do this, pls read the sentence above :p

    -- If you missed the sentence from above:

    -- PLEASE MAKE A "BACKUP" of your STUFF / WORLD because i dont take any responsability what might happen to your world(s) ;)

    -- And something for Notch :p --> "PLS change the CODEBASE to something other then JAVA" .... its atm manageble but i cant see a good and working future for the game, because you cant really do everything what you imagine .... and only because of the JAVA Restrictions and Performance Problems !!!
     
    nhoclesnar likes this.
  2. Offline

    Lunar Delta

    Looks good, but you don't need X-Incremental GC and Concurrent Mark-Sweep CG in same command line.
     
  3. Offline

    Therawroy

    i think i set both because every commandline is for the OLD or YOUNG Garbage Collector. But i give it a test tomorrow =) I try to do something like a little MineCraft Benchmark xD xD
     
  4. Offline

    bassfader

    I'll give it a try, lets see what happens :) Thanks for sharing anyways ^^
     
  5. Offline

    Therawroy

    Everything to help the Game :p

    SOOOO .... i tested a lot and with BIG MAPS and STUFF ..... and i am PROUD to say :

    "This is the First usable way, to get the MineCraftServer working without the fear of having not enough RAM ... i will show you detailed Pics with examples later !

    - ATM i run one World with 3000W * 3000L and 72 MP (Bukkit Plugins) on Port 9996 and with Dynmap HD enabled !!

    - AND also a second World with 4500W * 4500L and 20 MP and 5 SP Plugins on Port 9997

    and BOTH on my shitty vServer .... and now i CANT get the Game anyway over 720MB even if i render 4 Worlds at the SAME time .... and if it gets fuller, it also gets as fast empty (RAM and JAVA HEAP SIZE)

    Server 1 uses max 721 MB
    Server 2 uses max = 481 MB

    Both running at the same time :p

    You can call me your savior later :p First FEEDBACK ;)

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  6. Offline

    Lunar Delta

    Those instructions for installing Java 7 on Ubuntu are outdated and no longer apply. You can no longer get the self-extracting bin files, only normal tar.gz files. If someone could provide updated instructions, that would be nice.
     
  7. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    Wait wait, Java 1.7.0 is out? Yay!

    Oh never mind I seem to have the latest version already. So how did you reduce that Ram again? :p

    The whole server stopped working with this option: -XX:+UseAdaptiveSizePolicy
    But the rest is great!


    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  8. Offline

    Lunar Delta

    Tried your java arguments out. Heap size started at around 600MB or so, and started going up immediately. Only had 5 people on initially, 3 of them signed off leaving only 2, but the heap size grew... 700, 800, 900. It's going to pass 1GB in just a few minutes with only 2 people online on a 5200x5200 world.
     
  9. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    After 1hour and 10mins with like 5 people in it's using 666MB, so that's awesome! Started @ 400MB.

    oh btw 5000x5000 world.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  10. Offline

    marcel

    You should mention that UseSSE=3 may not be useful for newer CPUs. Mine for example all support SSE 4_2 and I think it would be better to set UseSSE=4 then ;)

    According to the java source code it should decrease the value automatically if the hardware doesn't support the selected value. So it should be no problem setting it to 4 in general.
     
  11. Offline

    Therawroy

    There is NO SSE 4 for JAVA .... SSE 3 means that you use SSE2 and SSE3 at the same time ..... NOTHING ELSE ;) I need feedback :p not advice ;)

    Every MAP with his OWN Stuff and SIZE will use more or less RAM then i said. Thats normal ! Because you need to find the right balance ... so if my world is 4000*4000, it should be smaller in RAM then a 5200*5200 with more buildings ....

    but from what i can read, i think i found something which works =) THX guys !

    YOU ALL will see a nice little Benchmark IDEA to show you the difference :p And "Notch" ... if you wanna use my idea, just PM me :p

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
    razoreqx likes this.
  12. Offline

    Lunar Delta

    No, there is definitely SSE4 for Java:

    http://www.google.com/codesearch/p?.../hg.openjdk.java.net/jdk7/swing/hotspot&l=254

    Code:
      if (UseSSE < 4) {     _cpuFeatures &= ~CPU_SSE4_1;     _cpuFeatures &= ~CPU_SSE4_2;
    Also, I've found that the command line doesn't really help at all. When I try it, my memory use always keeps going up - ever up - even if there is only one person on the server.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  13. Offline

    Phinary

    So will jre 1.7 make a difference at all? I went and installed jre 1.7 on my server yesterday and then saw this saying to use the jdk Q_Q
     
  14. Offline

    Therawroy

    jre1.7 makes no real difference, because MineCraft isnt using the Features .... thats why the command line is so long :p

    There are small benefits, but nothing that you can call a real help. Like i said ... it took 20 days and many many many Restarts :p

    Want it more technical ?
    - There is a change in how jre 1.7.0 uses the Garbage Collector .... and i tried every combination with a mix of good known oldschool java commands

    Thats interesting, it seems you have a real heavy world .... is there maybe a way that i can get it for testing ? i have a hardcore MAP too, but i can keep it under 700MB .... so a new challenge is born :p

    Ok ... your right :p .... had the documentation of version 1.6.0 .... nice :p i give it a try

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  15. Offline

    dblodonut

    Uh, how exactly do i figure out how much memory my server is using?? >.> <.< (im a java noob)
     
  16. Offline

    bassfader

    Depends on the operating system you are using, for linux just use the "top" command
     
  17. Offline

    dblodonut

    I'm using windows 7 atm.

    but if i was using linux where exactly would i use the "top" command? (or where would i do the command (whatever it is) in 7?)
     
  18. Offline

    bassfader

    In windows7 just open the task manager and take a look at the process list, there should be some java.exe around which should be your running server (assuming you have no other java programs running at the moment).

    For linux the "top" command should be entered in a shell/bash window.
     
  19. Offline

    dblodonut

    thank you! im at 821 MB usage atm with a tiny server with no one on it (but a ton of plugins). Is the commandline that Therawroy posted for linux or can it be used with any operating system. I just need to get java 1.7.0 first?

    after 1 person being on and doing nothing for 10 minutes my usage is almost at 900 MB. i definitely am gonna test later today with Therawroy's commandline

    when i try to run the commandline i get this error:
    "Unrecognized VM option 'parallelGCThreads=2'
    Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
    Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit."

    any suggestions?

    im running windows 7 64bit with the new java 1.7.0 64bit JDK just installed

    i took that part of the command line out and changed the SSE to 4 and it works. i'll edit my post again once i see what the memory is at in ~20 minutes. (also what does the parallelGCThreads command do?) my server memory usage with no one on it was pretty much halved with the new command line though!

    ***users cannot connect to my server anymore after i installed java 1.7.0*** (also i cant connect to MC at all)

    im probably being annoying i know. This is over my head which is why >.> sorry

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  20. Offline

    bassfader

    Change it to for your first error:
    PHP:
    -XX:ParallelGCThreads=2
    (The capital "P" is mandatory!)

    But for the second one (that users can't connect) I really don't know. I've been running my server with Java 1.7 for quite some time now (though it is a Linux server) without any problems so I doubt thats the problem. What message do your users see when trying to connect, and what does your Server Log looks like?
     
  21. Offline

    dblodonut

    This is the error i get when my friend tries to join the server (any of them). (i also cannot connect to minecraft at all)

    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [INFO] Disconnecting manicx101 [/216.165.242.70:54522]: Failed to verify username! [internal error java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect]
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] java.net.ConnectException: Connection timed out: connect
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.DualStackPlainSocketImpl.connect0(Native Method)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.DualStackPlainSocketImpl.socketConnect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.doConnect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connectToAddress(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.AbstractPlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.PlainSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.SocksSocketImpl.connect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.Socket.connect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.NetworkClient.doConnect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.openServer(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.<init>(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.http.HttpClient.New(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getNewHttpClient(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.plainConnect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.connect(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at sun.net.www.protocol.http.HttpURLConnection.getInputStream(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at java.net.URL.openStream(Unknown Source)
    2011-07-13 13:43:09 [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.ThreadLoginVerifier.run(ThreadLoginVerifier.java:34)



    edit: the capital P totally worked XD XD hahaha thanks

    also how do you make the show/hide spoiler thing? i dont want this error message spamming the page basically.
     
  22. Offline

    Therawroy

    jre is the "small version" .... normally its everything you need, BUT sometimes there is a PlugIn who wants more .... and the only thing you see is an error ... without mentioning that you need the whole jdk ...

    and then there is a really really special case, which i only found 1 time ;) You use the jdk 7 but need something like javac from jdk 6 and then it works ..... but its a very special case
     
  23. Offline

    dblodonut

    which part of the commandline do i change to allocate more memory to my MC server?

    edit: when I have the server running with your command line it hits 2+ gigs under a heavy workflow and ~500MB normally. when i run the server normally it is about 800 MB normally and 1.2gigs under the same heavy workflow. is your commandline not meant for a ton of things happening at once? (aka worldedit)
     
  24. Offline

    Therawroy

    ITS a writing ERROR :p SORRY .... just change it to "P" instead of "p" parallelGCThreads
     
  25. Offline

    pomo4ka

    Thank you, I will definitely check it out.
     
  26. Offline

    Therawroy

    IF your USERS cant connect anymore, its mostly when you MOD the Server with SP-Mods and delete the META-FILE .... then you need to change the propertie ONLINE-MODE from the Server to false =( You wont get in Online Mode with the Missing META-FILE
    Hope it helped
     
  27. Offline

    odielag

    Just followed the instructions and used rtoolkit to specify things... here's a line from wrapper.properties

    Code:
    server-arguments=nogui,Xincgc,server,XX:NewRatio=2,XX:CMSFullGCsBeforeCompaction=1,XX:SoftRefLRUPolicyMSPerMB=2048,XX:+CMSParallelRemarkEnabled,XX:+UseParNewGC,XX:+UseAdaptiveSizePolicy,XX:+DisableExplicitGC,Xnoclassgc,oss4M,ss4M,XX:+UseFastAccessorMethods,XX:CMSInitiatingOccupancyFraction=60,XX:+UseConcMarkSweepGC,XX:UseSSE=3,XX:+UseCMSCompactAtFullCollection,XX:parallelGCThreads=4,XX:+AggressiveOpts
    So far so good... the server seems peppy, but could be my imagination... I have to wait til 10+ are connected to see the difference in core usage/memory but memory seems similar so far.

    I forgot to mention I had to uninstall sun java1.6, which took "yum uninstall jdk" from the centos root console. Then I just did the alternatives command again based on a guide and sun jdk 1.7 worked!

    Edit: Thought I'd describe/brag about my server... 24gb system ram, 12gb to the process... I hope it's used well.

    EDIT: Removed the "cp" from the above line because I don't know how to fit the entire syntax.
     
  28. Offline

    Therawroy

    I change to a PowerServer too :p and i am already taking Benchmarks .... and there you can see the difference .... but you also notice that the difference isnt that big when you have a 64bit System and that much RAM ;) But i have a accelerated Test Version for such amount of RAM .... but first i need to help the small people with small servers or restriction like 32bit and so on ..... :p

    Wait for my Benchmark called: "SPITAKMark" ;)
     
  29. Offline

    dblodonut

    Hey Odie. That line you used makes the commandline work with RToolKit? Like full functionality from both Therawroy's commandline and RToolKit? You may have just solved my problem!
     
  30. Offline

    Ziden

    im using this, i got 2 gb ram free cause of it, however cpu usage went a lil up, im running on 5/20 clock rate. Is there something you can do to do a better performance at CPU usage ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page