NMS | help with packets

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Remigio07_, Oct 18, 2019.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Remigio07_

hi everyone,
    I'm building a little plugin for my server and in particular I'm trying to create a custom animated tablist.
    I'm new in packets so I don't know exactly how they work, but after some tries the plugin worked well until another player joined the server. Basically, when there's more than 1 player online and I try to get the player's name using a for loop, to set it as the header or as the footer, it swaps the players' names.

PHP:
    public static void idk() {

PacketPlayOutPlayerListHeaderFooter pack = new PacketPlayOutPlayerListHeaderFooter();

for (
    Player p Bukkit.getOnlinePlayers()) {

CraftPlayer cp = (CraftPlayerp;

PlayerConnection conn cp.getHandle().playerConnection;

try {

pack.getClass().getField("header").set(pack, new ChatComponentText(p.getName()));

pack.getClass().getField("footer").set(pack, new ChatComponentText(p.getName()));
                } catch (
    IllegalArgumentException IllegalAccessException NoSuchFieldException SecurityException e) {

e.printStackTrace();
                }

try {

conn.getClass().getMethod("sendPacket"getNMSClass("Packet")).invoke(connpack);
                } catch (
    IllegalAccessException IllegalArgumentException InvocationTargetException

NoSuchMethodException SecurityException e) {

e.printStackTrace();
                }
            }
        }
    you can note that I send the same instance of PacketPlayOutPlayerListHeaderFooter to every player, but every time the loop gets another player the header and the footer are set to the new player's name, so every time they should change, but they don't.
    I also know that if I create an instance for every player I could solve the problem, but I'd just like to understand why it's not working.

Last edited: Oct 18, 2019
  2. Offline

Kars