Learning to code!

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by JustStride, Jan 23, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

JustStride

Hey there!
    So basically, I've been trying to learn how to code and I've been having lots of trouble. I'm a complete beginner and I've tried so many different methods, suing the forums, using the API, watching tutorials, trying to do it on my own, etc.

Do you have any good methods?
    Any good tips and/or sources?
    How'd you learn?
    What would you suggest to a beginner?

These are all questions I have and I think the answers might help me get started. I really wanna learn Bukkit and become one of those coders who could code basically everything Bukkit. I know it's gonna take a long time but I'm completely dedicated into learning! Thanks for reading this and please try your best to help me. :D

2. Offline

Bionicrm

Well just saying, I don't think this is the right section, but oh well.
    Anyway, the best way to learn is the way you like best. Video tutorials are more relaxing but aren't always the most accurate. Text is usually accurate and updated but can be boring to read. Books are also useful. And for you, I'd suggest that you don't learn how to code by starting with an API. First, make simple programs that help you learn the Java programming language. Starting with an API will make you rely on calling pure Bukkit methods, and you'll never learn OOP nor other proper coding methods. And the video tutorials that say "how to make a bukkit plugin" aren't good. If you don't know Java, you can't use an API (at least not very well). Give it a few months and you'll get Java down pretty well and will start to be able to make plugins. Good luck, have fun :)

3. Offline

Polishgaming