Is my coding messy?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Graffetus, Feb 21, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Graffetus

Hello, I am a beginner at Java, and I have heard that the tidiness of your code really matters. I cannot really tell if my code is tidy or messy, so I would like feedback from others. Here is my code:
    Code:
    public class Speed implements CommandExecutor {

public boolean onCommand(CommandSender sender, Command cmd, String commandLabel, String[] args) {

Player p = (Player) sender;

if (cmd.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("speed")) {

if (p.hasPermission("custom_speed") || p.isOp()) {

if (args.length < 1) {
                        p.sendMessage(ChatColor.RED + "Usage: /speed (speed)");
                        return true;
                    }

float n = Float.parseFloat(args[0]);

if (n > 10 || n < 0) {
                        p.sendMessage(ChatColor.GRAY + "Please specify a " + ChatColor.GOLD + "speed" + ChatColor.GRAY + " from " + ChatColor.GOLD + "0 - 10" + ChatColor.GRAY + "!");
                        return true;
                    }

if (!(p.getLocation().getBlock().getRelative(BlockFace.DOWN).getType() == Material.AIR)) {
                        p.setWalkSpeed(n / 10);
                        p.sendMessage(ChatColor.GRAY + "Your " + ChatColor.GOLD + "walk speed" + ChatColor.GRAY + " has been set to " + ChatColor.GOLD + n + ChatColor.GRAY + "!");
                        return true;
                    }

p.setFlySpeed(n / 10);
                    p.sendMessage(ChatColor.GRAY + "Your " + ChatColor.GOLD + "fly speed" + ChatColor.GRAY + " has been set to " + ChatColor.GOLD + n + ChatColor.GRAY + "!");
                    return true;

} else {
                    p.sendMessage(ChatColor.RED + "You do not have permission to use /speed!");
                }
            }
            return true;
        }
    }

2. Offline

N00BHUN73R

@Graffetus
    IMO it looks fine :) That's how I would do it