Invalid Plugin Exception

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by taka, Jul 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

taka

So, I know what the problem is, just not entirely sure how to fix it (as I'm still new to developing plugins). I was working through an old Samkio tutorial on making a simple economy plugin and followed it to the letter, then fixed the listeners for the new Bukkit event system, as I had read previously. All was well, and I'm fairly certain it will function correctly, but there is something wrong with my setup.

The package is me.taka.MoneyBukkit and my plugin.yml file has

main: me.taka.MoneyBukkit.MoneyBukkit

Which, if I infer (also newish to Java, but not to programming) the first three are the package, the fourth is the MoneyBukkit.java file, yes? On starting up the server, it gives me an InvalidPluginException stating that

java.lang.NoSuchMethodException: me.taka.MoneyBukkit.MoneyBukkit.<init>()

Which method is called by "init" ? That is the problem yes? Am I way off base? I had assumed the "init" to which it refers would be the onEnable() method. Anyway, I'm rambling, probably just a common newb mistake. Thank you for pointing me in the right direction in advance :)

2. Offline

Sagacious_Zed Bukkit Docs

taka
    When the stack trace shows <init> it is referring to the constructor for that class.

This may be because there is something wrong with that particular class.

3. Offline

taka

This is exactly like the Samkio tutorial, save the:

public static MoneyBukkit plugin;

Which I noticed was in my working plugin, but this one isn't working, so I added it.
    I also tried by adding @Override before the onEnable() and onDisable() methods, which no tutorial I've ever read has really explained why...but I figured why not, and tried it. Still no dice.