getCursor() Returning item with no ItemMeta

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by jeph0, May 20, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

jeph0

Hello, I'm new to bukkit and writing my first plugin, so I may be missing something obvious, but I can't figure this out. When I execute this event listener (designed to detect when an item with a persistent data key is moved to another inventory), the item object returned by getCursor() has no ItemMeta object. The item itself seems to still have this meta, as seen in the below screenshot and proven by other areas of code in which the hasKey() method works properly (This method simply checks if the item has the specified key as a persistantData key).

Code:
            @EventHandler(priority = EventPriority.MONITOR, ignoreCancelled = true)
            public void onClick(InventoryClickEvent event) {

//ItemStack item = Optional.ofNullable(event.getCursor()).orElse(event.getCurrentItem());
                ItemStack item = event.getCursor();
                if (item == null) {item = event.getCurrentItem();} //Breakpoint after here

if (item == null || event.getResult() == Event.Result.DENY || !KeyHelper.hasKey(item, DeathCompass.getCompassKey())) {
                    return;
                }
                DeathCompass compass = DeathCompass.getCompass(item);

switch (event.getAction()) {
                case PLACE_ALL:
                case PLACE_SOME:
                case PLACE_ONE:
                    compass.setInventory(event.getClickedInventory());
                    break;
                case MOVE_TO_OTHER_INVENTORY:
                    if (event.getClickedInventory().equals(event.getView().getTopInventory())) {
                        compass.setInventory(event.getView().getBottomInventory());
                    } else {
                        compass.setInventory(event.getView().getTopInventory());
                    }

break;
                default: