Get String[] array from config file list

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by RE3ELL, May 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

RE3ELL

Hi,
    i am fairly new to Java and Bukkit develompent and i am unable to get the list from my config and make an String[] Array out of it.
    I have this list in my config:

Code:
    Configuration:
      Modules:
        BlockRestriction:
          # Usage:  <ID> . [Metadata] = Limit
          # Spaces do not matter. The Metadata is optional.
          # E.g.: Players can only have 2 Personal Anchors (Railcraft Mod)
          Blocklist:
          - 1053.2 = 2
          - 1 = 5
          - 5.2 = 1
    I need to replace some part of the strings contained in it with String.replace().
    E.g.
    Split each string of the list into 2 parts at the "=" to get the Id and the Metadata from the Block to convert it into integers to combine it with the id and meta at the onBlockPlaceEvent() .

My Problem is now:
    How can i get the list from the config and convert it into a string array, to fit my needs?

If you know a better way to get the id, meta and limit a user types into a config file and compare it with the block on onBlockPlaceEvent(), please tell me. It would be a very very nice help. :)

Thx,
    re3ell

2. Offline

Jogy34

Why not just use a list in the first place? But to convert it into an array you would do something like this:
    Code:
    List<String> list = config.getStringList("path");
    String[] array = list.toArray(new String[0]);

3. Offline

RE3ELL

Thanks for the fast reply, but also your code works, i don´t get it to do what i want.^^

A quick summary of what i want to do:
    My plugin intends to set a block place limit for blocks a user defines in config. E.g. Block users from placeing more than 3 GoldBlocks.

As i am new to java i might do it extremly complicated but here is what i do to make it happen: