[Formatted] Special Items (Integrates mcMMO)

Discussion in 'Archived: Plugin Requests' started by Lanuk, Oct 30, 2012.

1. Offline

Lanuk

Plugin category: Fun/General

Suggested name: None really, I am horrible with coming up with names :p

What I want: I would like a plugin that either utilizes unsafe enchantments or the new 1.4 item naming feature to recognize when a player has a certain item in their hand, and when they do, give them a certain number of mcMMO levels.

I have tried creating this, but I am stuck on how to account for all the events that could change the player's item-in-hand. I know you can be constantly checking for it, but that would cause lag. (I am a bad programmer).

Basically, I would like there to be a config file where I can specify either an item name (using the item naming feature in 1.4) or the unsafe enchantments on it (i.e. a sword with power II). I would also like to specify a certain amount of mcMMO levels in a skill the player will get when they wield this item. The config file would look something like this:

ItemName: SuperSword
    mcMMOLevels:
    Sword: 10

This will give the player 10 mcMMO sword levels when they wield the item named supersword. The "ItemName" category can be replaced with "NameofUnsafeEnchantments" or something.

The tricky part I have found in this, again, is accounting for each and every event that will change the player's item-in-hand to or from this special item. Somehow the plugin needs to be able to tell if the player is holding a special item specified in the config file, and then give them/take from them the correct amount of mcMMO levels.

Ideas for commands:

None really needed for this plugin as far as I can see

Ideas for permissions:

(name).use - Lets players use the plugin and gain mcMMO skills when they are holding the correct item

When I'd like it by: I feel like this may take a while, but I really have no idea how quick you guys can do this stuff. As soon as possible would be great!