Changing the a players name tag :: Similar to TagAPI

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Cjbolt, Oct 22, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Cjbolt

Hello, I'm trying to change the color of a players name tag in-game, similar to TagAPI. The only reason I'm not currently using TagAPI is become I'm stubborn and simply just want to know how to do it, and not rely on other plugins. I'm fairly new to coding, and this might be a complex task, but any help is greatly appreciated. I found this link: http://forums.bukkit.org/threads/tutorial-teams-name-color-and-wool-hats-asigned-to-player.80835/

This was pretty helpful, but I still don't quite understand it, especially when I try out the code that is listed and I receive errors.
    Code:
        private void applyTeam(Player p, String team){
            String oldName = p.getName();
            EntityPlayer changingName = ((CraftPlayer) p).getHandle();
            if(team.equalsIgnoreCase("red")){
                changingName.name = red.toString()+p.getName();
            }else
    ANY input at all on this topic that is relevant to name tags and changing the players name tag color is very much appreciated.

2. Offline

Tirelessly

You need to reference craftbukkit to use that code. Just call the method.

3. Offline

Cjbolt

Tirelessly
    I'm going to need a little bit more help then that. I apologize, but as I said earlier I'm a little new to coding.

4. Offline

Tirelessly

Ok, so when you first make a new java project you go into the build path and add bukkit.jar, I assume. You're going to need to reference craftbukkit.jar as well. Yes, they are different. Then you're going to need to import some things, your IDE can help you there. Do you understand calling a method?

5. Offline

ZeusAllMighty11

You're going to need a knowledge of sending, and destroying packets as well.

6. Offline

Cjbolt

Tirelessly