world.getSpawnLocation(), doesn't work correctly?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Relick, Sep 10, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Relick

I have some code that uses getSpawnLocation() on a world to define a location, then teleports the player there. This works for when the player is in a different world (such as X is in aworld an wants to go to bworld, this works), however when the player is in the same world they want to go to (e.g. a go to spawn function) it places them about 30 layers below the actual spawn location. I haven't measured it yet, so it could be an exact number and therefore possibly to work around but is there a better way of doing it?

Sorry if it's blatantly obvious, I'm not good with the obvious :p

2. Offline

Timberjaw

The way the MC server handles spawn points is a bit weird. I've encountered this issue before but never put the time into properly diagnosing it. As a simple workaround, you can use the world.getHighestBlockAt method to get a safer Y for the X/Z location.

3. Offline

Relick

Ah thanks, good idea. Works good for now (until some sort of fix is made).

Doesn't work with the nether unfortunately. Any other work arounds?

EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.

Last edited by a moderator: May 19, 2016
  4. Offline

emericask8ur

Location spawn = p.getWorld().getSpawnLocation();
    p.teleport(spawn);

5. Offline

Relick

What do you think I've been doing? Is there even any other way of doing it.

I'm asking for help with a bug in the code you just posted. When you go to the same world, it doesn't work. Try it yourself if you don't believe me.

6. Offline

emericask8ur

Well i think you might have to have to have a custom set spawn code for this. Because i did spawn in mine and it sended me all the way down xD

7. Offline

Timberjaw

You might have to resort to a loop and check for a 2-block high zone of block AIR.