Working on logging...everything

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by kwg, Mar 9, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

kwg

So, I'm not a developer. I'm learning java now and I am loving it so far, but I have no experience in this area so the going is slow. As per my normal masochistic behaviour, I might have selected a rather large target for my first plugin. I would like some advice as to how/if to proceed.

My first plugin started as a joke. I had just killed a sheep with a porkchop and a friend commented that there should be an achievement for doing that 100 times... I wont repeat what the title reward was he said we should give for killing 100 sheep with your meat :)

So the idea started as - "how do I track who killed what with what". That part turned out to be somewhat simpler than I thought. The storage method has occupied over a week of my time though. I know SQL to a degree (and the wife breathes it) and I admin/IT databases and larger servers (babysit). Once we started building out tables for what all needed to be tracked I realized "this is going to get huge. fast". Pretty much talking about tracking every single thing I can write a listener for - which is just about everything. So much so that we are now talking about 2 databases, one on another server that writes live and one on the MC server that is read only and writes from the buffer at some yet undetermined interval. How many times has X player broken Y block using Z tool? How many steps has X player taken on Y terrain? What was every action that X player took from Y date to Z date?