With a heavy heart, it's my time to move on.

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by xGhOsTkiLLeRx, Sep 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

xGhOsTkiLLeRx

You probably don't know me. Which is completely fine :)
    I was never a Bukkit team member, nor a BukkitDev staff member.
    However, I think a goodbye thread is just fine.

My name is Tim, better known under xGhOsTkiLLeRx and I joined Bukkit 3 years ago.

However this is my goodbye to the community, too.
    It was an epic journey and I learned so much from all of you!
    With over half a million downloads of just SilkSpawners and ColorMe combined, I'm still completely blown away of the power of the Bukkit community.

I started playing Minecraft with the Beta 1.2_01 and even bought an Alpha account after a friend told me about Minecraft one month earlier (end of 2010, beginning of 2011).
    First of all I started my own SP adventure and then discovered the magic of the own Minecraft Server and the power of Bukkit.
    I opened up my own little server to play with my friends and joined Bukkit 3 years ago.
    When the first plugin went inactive I stepped into the plugin development and learned so much since this point. Thanks to Edward Hand - you were the reason I touched Java code for the first time in my life.
    I soon realized that programming is the thing I want to study and that this is my appointment. Now just three years later, with 19, I'm studying computer science and work for a really awesome company.
    I won't have gotten to this point without this community. <3

My new knowledge has got even further, when I decided to rent my own VPS and to host a real Minecraft Server on Linux - I had many sleepless nights and went on my shell to fix some Linux problems. Knowledge that I need everyday in my job.
    After I started learning Java I discovered GitHub and how awesome the versioning tool git is. Another tool I use everyday at work.