[TUTORIAL]Running a Server: Port-Forwarding, Hamachi...

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by ImminentFate, Jul 19, 2011.

?

What do you use to let your players join your server?

  1. Hamachi

    45.5%
  2. Port-Forwarding

    51.1%
  3. LAN Play

    3.4%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    SuicideS

    Ok I installed Bukkit I have a world I already played on with my friends (without bukkit). Now since we want to have a /home /spawn and stuff I'm trying to get Bukkit to work. They are all in my Hamachi, they have the IP, I wrote the hamachi IP in server.properties, the world has the same name as my hamachi network, but only I can join. What could be the Problem? I have online mode = false and whitelist disabled :\
     
  2. Offline

    astronautlevel

    OMG I LUV U! DIS IS BOSS! EVERYTHING WORKED PERFECTLY! I HATE IT WHEN TUTORIALS SAY "Don't forget to port forward!" BUT THIS ONE DIDN'T! THIS TAUGHT YOU HOW!!! U IS BOSS!

    [EDIT] I will share my knowledge to others

    leave the IP in server.properties blank. If u dont use bukkit u have to have the ip, but bukkit auto adds it in and it just messes it up if u put it in.

    type in localhost when you are in minecraft multiplayer.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  3. Offline

    Dragonwars122

    I have tried the Hamachi instructions. I can get on both through my IP and through the Hamachi IP, but my friend can't get in through Hamachi and When he tries my ip (127.0.0.1) it says something like "Connection Refused" I NEED HELP!
     
  4. Offline

    looloosha

    What if I dont have a router and I have a modem that connects me to the internet straight to my computer.
     
  5. Offline

    tkeckler09

    I use this but its only using about 400 mb ram making it lag so how do i have it load more ram
     
  6. Offline

    RealNick123

    Mac osx?

    mac osx?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  7. Offline

    bsteven93

    I have less of a problem with Port forwarding and all of its nonsense but more with the actual server for some reason I can't run Essentials or even load Essentials plugins on my Craftbukkit I've tried using the Starter. BAT to open the blue cmd prompt and loaded only 3 of the Essential Jars in my pulgin folder I don't know why they won't start or load I've in read through the server load log to find the problem can you help me and my problem?
     
  8. Offline

    rainbowpocky

    So when i open bukkit, fresh download, i have this

    10:33 PM [INFO] [Pail] Setting up window...
    10:33 PM [INFO] [Pail] Pail 0.7.5 Enabled
    10:33 PM [INFO] Preparing level "World One"
    10:33 PM [INFO] Default game type: 0
    10:33 PM [INFO] Placed stronghold in INVALID biome at (-2, 57)
    10:34 PM [INFO] Placed stronghold in INVALID biome at (-59, -37)
    10:34 PM [INFO] Unable to find spawn biome
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing start region for level 0 (Seed: -971241471943992311)
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 8%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 16%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 20%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 28%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 32%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 36%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 40%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 48%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 52%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 57%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 65%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 69%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 73%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 81%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 85%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 89%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 97%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing start region for level 1 (Seed: -971241471943992311)
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 8%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 16%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 24%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 36%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 48%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 57%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 61%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 69%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 81%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 93%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing start region for level 2 (Seed: -971241471943992311)
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 28%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 65%
    10:34 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 93%
    10:34 PM [INFO] CraftBukkitUpToDate version 2.7.2 is enabled!
    10:34 PM [INFO] PailPlus v0.2 beta enabled
    10:34 PM [INFO] Server permissions file permissions.yml is empty, ignoring it
    10:34 PM [INFO] Done (3.480s)! For help, type "help" or "?"
    10:34 PM [WARNING] CraftBukkitUpToDate: Can't connect to ci.bukkit.org.
    10:34 PM [INFO] CButD: Plugin-Update-Check started
    10:34 PM [INFO] CraftBukkitUpToDate.jar changed, try to download the new
    10:34 PM [INFO] CraftBukkitUpToDate.jar updated, copy C:\Users\Angelica\Documents\CraftBukkit Server\bukkit_update\plugins\CraftBukkitUpToDate.jar to your Plugin-Folder
    10:34 PM [INFO] CButD: 1 plugins were updated, please copy them into your plugins folder.
    10:34 PM [INFO] CButD: Plugin-Update-Check finished

    then i connect using local host and it adds:

    10:41 PM [INFO] rainbowpocky [/127.0.0.1:54636] logged in with entity id 7186 at ([World One] 236.5, 69.62000000476837, 258.5)
    10:41 PM [WARNING] Can't keep up! Did the system time change, or is the server overloaded?

    my friends cant connect using port forwarding or hamachi, what am i doing wrong?

    and then
    i installed java seven to see if that would help and i get this

    8 PM [INFO] [Pail] Setting up window...
    10:48 PM [INFO] [Pail] Pail 0.7.5 Enabled
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing level "World One"
    10:48 PM [INFO] Default game type: 0
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing start region for level 0 (Seed: -971241471943992311)
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 40%
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing start region for level 1 (Seed: -971241471943992311)
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 3%
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 97%
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing start region for level 2 (Seed: -971241471943992311)
    10:48 PM [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 36%
    10:48 PM [INFO] CraftBukkitUpToDate version 2.7.2 is enabled!
    10:48 PM [INFO] PailPlus v0.2 beta enabled
    10:48 PM [INFO] Server permissions file permissions.yml is empty, ignoring it
    10:48 PM [INFO] Done (0.540s)! For help, type "help" or "?"
    10:48 PM [WARNING] CraftBukkitUpToDate: Can't connect to ci.bukkit.org.

    login as localhost

    10:48 PM [INFO] The automatic update-Check only work every 6 hours, the last check was 13 minutes ago.
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] java.lang.NullPointerException
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.NetworkListenThread.a(SourceFile:63)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.NetLoginHandler.a(NetLoginHandler.java:146)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.Packet254GetInfo.a(SourceFile:16)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.NetworkManager.b(NetworkManager.java:226)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.NetLoginHandler.a(NetLoginHandler.java:46)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.NetworkListenThread.a(SourceFile:94)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.w(MinecraftServer.java:527)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:425)
    10:48 PM [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:457)
    10:48 PM [INFO] /127.0.0.1:54903 lost connection

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  9. Offline

    zoobat98

    ok i have one problem:
    i portfowarded like you said and made a new rule and went through all the steps and when i get on my brothers computer and i type in my external ip adress with my port and just plain it says cant connect even though i let it threw and my server was started
     
  10. Offline

    killerdude765

    this is my first server im making, i try to open server.properties but it says windows cant open this file? (sorry i know this is an idiotic question)
     
  11. Offline

    OmegaCentarui

    welp i have a cisco Linksys E1000 can i even port foward with this router?
     
  12. Offline

    Lucyyan22

    I have the online mode false, my ip, the port is 25565, i open the server, i do everyting in craftbukkit and minecraft-server but when i enter in minecraft, i type my server and the ip in multiplayer, it said cant reach the server
    please help!
     
  13. Offline

    OmDen

    can anyone help me when i run craftbukkit it just shuts it straight away what have i done wrong?
     
  14. Offline

    twkk

    why i cant download
     
  15. Offline

    supermkh

    Hello Imminentfate!
    I have an issue..
    I have succesfully created a server that is running perfectly, but I can't play with my friends.
    I know that if I want to go with Hamachi then my friends will have to download it too, but I would like to port forward, so that they will not have to download anything but just join my server. My problem is now that I don't know what my router is calling the setting I have to open and edit. I found the setting called "services" but it won't open, now i'm stucked :S
    Hope you can help :)
     
  16. Offline

    vaznekz

    Hey everyone, I have portforwarded and set up everything correctly but when I try to connect to my MC server, It gives me this:
    Failed to connect to server
    Connection refused: connect
    Please help! Thank you in advance, haha!

    By the way... I tried it using localhost and it worked fine... Help someone!

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  17. Offline

    neil9444

    Im making a craft bukkit server. Anyway (no hamachi) I did all my crap the router was the hardest and i did everything i could. so when i enter it on the add server thing it days server cant reach server. Here are my server properties.

    # Minecraft server properties
    ##### AwesomeCraft
    allow-nether=true
    level-name=World One
    enable-query=false
    allow-flight=false
    server-port=25565
    level-type=FLAT
    enable-rcon=false
    hellworld=false
    level-seed=
    server-ip=
    spawn-npcs=false
    white-list=false
    spawn-animals=true
    online-mode=false
    pvp=false
    difficulty=1
    gamemode=0
    max-players=20
    spawn-monsters=true
    generate-structures=true
    view-distance=10
    motd=Hey

    So any ideas what i should do?

    Also Where EXACTLY do i enter localhost.
     
  18. Offline

    sanhard

    How do I incrase the amount of RAM my server can use?
     
  19. Offline

    xquaresitaxz

    Just patched it. But now I get this:
    174 recipes
    27 achievements
    10:12:47 [INFO] Starting minecraft server version 1.1
    10:12:47 [INFO] Loading properties
    10:12:47 [INFO] Starting Minecraft server on 192.168.2.2:25565
    10:12:47 [WARNING] **** FAILED TO BIND TO PORT!
    10:12:47 [WARNING] The exception was: java.net.BindException: Cannot assign requ
    ested address: JVM_Bind
    10:12:47 [WARNING] Perhaps a server is already running on that port?
    >
    Server properties:
    #Minecraft server properties
    #Fri Feb 03 22:25:25 CET 2012
    allow-nether=true
    level-name=world
    enable-query=false
    allow-flight=false
    server-port=25565
    level-type=DEFAULT
    enable-rcon=false
    level-seed=
    server-ip=192.168.2.2
    spawn-npcs=true
    white-list=false
    spawn-animals=true
    online-mode=false
    pvp=true
    difficulty=1
    gamemode=0
    max-players=10
    spawn-monsters=true
    view-distance=5
    motd=A Minecraft Server

    EDIT: Changed server-ip from 192.168.2.2 to nothing. Now it's working when I'm connecting with localhost. But can my friends do that to?

    But also, thank you so much for giving the possibility to run a server :D I ow you ;)
     
  20. Offline

    sexymanwilly

    I may be doing something wrong but I can't connect to my own server, i used port forwarding, i connected to my ip which is 50.46.138.46:25565 and nothing, it says their is no connection. is there anyway you can help me out?
    Im running this on Windows server 2008 R2(dont know if that has anything to do with it)
     
  21. Offline

    torso4

    i have a problem , try to look up my ip adress in the web browser but it doesnt work! :'-(
    CAN YOU HELP ME?
     
  22. Offline

    Quinten Meottel

    i can connect to my sever with 'localhost' but not with my external ip ive tried offline mode on and off and i still cant connect with my external ip, here is the last log i did:

    20:14:10 [INFO] Starting minecraft server version 1.1
    2012-02-21 20:14:10 [INFO] Loading properties
    2012-02-21 20:14:10 [INFO] Starting Minecraft server on *:25565
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [WARNING] **** SERVER IS RUNNING IN OFFLINE/INSECURE MODE!
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [WARNING] The server will make no attempt to authenticate usernames. Beware.
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [WARNING] While this makes the game possible to play without internet access, it also opens up the ability for hackers to connect with any username they choose.
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [WARNING] To change this, set "online-mode" to "true" in the server.properties file.
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [INFO] This server is running CraftBukkit version git-Bukkit-1.1-R4-b1938jnks (MC: 1.1) (Implementing API version 1.1-R4)
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [INFO] MLog clients using java 1.4+ standard logging.
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [INFO] Preparing level "world"
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [INFO] Default game type: 0
    2012-02-21 20:14:11 [INFO] Preparing start region for level 0 (Seed: 725866209681948720)
    2012-02-21 20:14:12 [INFO] Preparing start region for level 1 (Seed: 725866209681948720)
    2012-02-21 20:14:12 [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 36%
    2012-02-21 20:14:13 [INFO] Preparing start region for level 2 (Seed: 725866209681948720)
    2012-02-21 20:14:13 [INFO] Preparing spawn area: 89%
    2012-02-21 20:14:13 [INFO] [Essentials] Loading Essentials v2.8.2.
    2012-02-21 20:14:13 [INFO] Bukkit version format changed. Version not checked.
    2012-02-21 20:14:13 [INFO] git-Bukkit-1.1-R4-b1938jnks (MC: 1.1)
    2012-02-21 20:14:13 [INFO] 1.1-R4
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] File not found: plugins\Essentials\jail.yml
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] Essentials: Using config based permissions. Enable superperms in config.
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] [EssentialsChat] Loading EssentialsChat v2.8.2.
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] [EssentialsProtect] Loading EssentialsProtect v2.8.2.
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] Initializing c3p0-0.9.1.2 [built 21-May-2007 15:04:56; debug? true; trace: 10]
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] [EssentialsSpawn] Loading EssentialsSpawn v2.8.2.
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] File not found: plugins\Essentials\spawn.yml
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] Server permissions file permissions.yml is empty, ignoring it
    2012-02-21 20:14:14 [INFO] Done (3.349s)! For help, type "help" or "?"

    and heres my server.properties:
    #Minecraft server properties
    #Tue Feb 21 17:36:16 CST 2012
    allow-nether=true
    level-name=world
    enable-query=false
    allow-flight=false
    server-port=25565
    level-type=DEFAULT
    enable-rcon=false
    level-seed=
    server-ip=
    spawn-npcs=true
    white-list=false
    spawn-animals=true
    online-mode=false
    pvp=false
    difficulty=1
    gamemode=0
    max-players=20
    spawn-monsters=true
    generate-structures=true
    view-distance=10
    motd=Qrm's Server
    Can you tell me if this isn't an error or the solution to my problem. i appretiate your help.

    EDIT: The problem was fixed My router wasnt out putting information
     
  23. Offline

    alladin

    I have done everything right on my bukkit server im pretty sure of that but when i try to join my server via localhost it says ''Took too long to log in''
    Anybody knows why?
     
  24. Offline

    sneekybuilder

    hey, i am curious, can you make a tutorial for "D-link"? im on the firewall page, but it doesn't say shit all about allowing a port to go through.
     
  25. Offline

    hyweu

    I have installed the Bukkit Server program and also the Hamachi thing. I could connect to the server on my computer, but if anybody else try to connect it says "cant reach server" ??? What is the problem???
     
  26. Offline

    Sorxuii

    All works fine.. until I get the message when I try to log in. (With Hamachi, everything else has been done)
    Connection Lost
    The Server Responded with an invalid Server key
    Edit: Changed Online Mode to false and i'm not getting that message any more, however, i'm now getting the message:
    Disconnected by Server
    Took too long to log in
     
  27. Offline

    FunCraft

    You can also port forward if you do not have a router!

    It's not called "port forwarding" but it does the same thing.

    All you have to do is go to your firewall(windows has one but I think that you probably use a anti-virus that has one too)and add the port 25565 so this way it will not be blocked.I am pretty sure you can find more information if you search Google on "how to open port with xxxxx" where "xxxxx" is your anti-virus name.

    Hope this helps you!
     
  28. Offline

    RICh_KING

    I STIL AHVE A PROBLEM PEOPLE CAN'T CONNECT FROM FAR AWAY WITH PORT FORWARDING
    :confused: NEED HELP
     
  29. Offline

    athony13579

    help i can not activate my server it says server can not be reached how do i activate it.
     
  30. Offline

    Sublame

    Hello, So I've looked at almost every post so far and almost every solution and I just cannot find how to fix this. The server itself detects my friends trying to connect to the server yet on the server log it says
    "Connection reset, "hisipadress:port" lost connection" and on his computer all he see's is "Canno reach server" but when he tries to connect anyways it says "Connection timed out". Please help me fix this problem
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page