[TUTORIAL]Running a Server: Port-Forwarding, Hamachi...

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by ImminentFate, Jul 19, 2011.

?

What do you use to let your players join your server?

  1. Hamachi

    45.5%
  2. Port-Forwarding

    51.1%
  3. LAN Play

    3.4%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    Plnx99

    Can you tell me how I can make a new rule?
     
  2. Offline

    ImminentFate

    i can help you over teamviewer, however you may have to stay up late or get up early. I am only available from 4-10pm Australian Eastern Standard time. Other times i am either at school or sleeping.

    open up your router's settings, then look for a section or tab called either: firewall, port-forward, gaming, rules, or something similar. Under there you should be able to create one

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  3. okay team veiwer, im at central time.... so on like friday or saturday ill stay up super late for you
     
  4. Offline

    Plnx99

    By router do you mean that address thing where I type in the bar up top? The one where you type in www.example.com?
     
  5. Offline

    ImminentFate

    it should be 192.168.0.1 or something similar.

    okay, on saturday my time, I'm availble from 9-12am, which, depending on your time, should be around 10pm your time friday night. I'm sorry, but i really can't do any other time unless you want to wake up super early (like 3-4 am)

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  6. Offline

    Karlkorv

    i've got a mac, and i'm running a server on it, tell me if you want some help.
     
  7. Offline

    Kulter

    I'm trying to set up a cracked server for my friends who can't afford Minecraft atm. Does this still apply?
     
  8. Offline

    ImminentFate

    yes, but your server will have to run with online-mode set to false. Everything else will be the same
     
  9. Offline

    vert456

    when i click the craft bukkit on my desktop, it doesnt run a small black screen appears for about 2 seconds then goes away and nothing happens... :(
     
  10. Everytime I try to open the desktop shortcut it opens for like 1 second then closes real quick, also I can't find my server on minecraft.
     
  11. Offline

    Shan2097

    This is really useful
    you might want to mention something about IP-tracking websites (for dynamic IPs, e.g. no-ip.org) because they're really useful with a server that has more than a handful of people and a dynamic IP.
     
  12. Offline

    ImminentFate

    try using one of the alternate files provided.

    good idea ;)

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  13. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    You mean, can't find it on minecraft.net's server list?
    That's because Beta servers don't appear on the server list.
    That's only the free version ;)
     
  14. Offline

    Red_Roses

    My displeasure regarding this thread and the Bukkit community at large stems from the fact that I believe Hamachi to contain malicious code meant to spread and infect other systems. I also believe that it uses more internet resources than it should, leaving few resources left for other internet-related programs.

    Mod Edit: Less rage, caps, and profanity. More discussion.

    Mod Edit: Removed flame-bait

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  15. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    Rage quit ftw?

    Mod Edit: Un-raged
     
  16. Offline

    TheGuyWithAFace

    I need help. I can connect with "localhost", but when others type in my external IP, they get "Can't Connect To Server". We've even tried slapping a :25565 on the end, but nothing happens either way.

    Ok, so we converted to hamachi. This time I used the ip it gave me instead of localhost... could connect fine. My friends, however, get "Can't resolve hostname." Help, please?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  17. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    Did you open your ports correctly?

    Are they in your hamachi network?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 17, 2016
  18. Offline

    TheGuyWithAFace

    Nevermind, got it to work! Thank you!
     
  19. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    oh, ok.
    Glad to have helped ;)
     
  20. Offline

    WildDruids

    Hi I need some help with Hamachi Server Hosting. When I Go Onto My Server By Typing The IP Adress in Hamachi. which is for example 5.30.236.132 it just says Failed To Connect To Server Connection Refused : Connect
    Could U Help me with this? :p Much Appreciated. I may reply Around 2 days later though :O Cos Im Not Free Tomorrow Or Now . Thanks!
     
  21. Offline

    KIKONUT

    I dont know how Add Custom Service in my Zyxel P-660HW-D1-INTERNET
    PLEASE HELP ME¡
     
  22. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    try localhost
    Have you tried googling?
     
  23. Offline

    astronautlevel

    ipconfig is not recognized as an internal or external command then goes on some. I use windows 7. HELP

    [EDIT] NVM. I was in the wrong cd place :/ Fixed it before I saw Lolmewn's post. Thanks for the help anyways!
     
  24. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

  25. Offline

    KIKONUT

    Yes but i dont find it
     
  26. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

  27. Offline

    Zehmistah

    I tried the hamachi server but it says "Cant reach server" to my friends that want to join. Help Plez lol
     
  28. Offline

    Lolmewn Retired Staff

    They are in your hamachi network, right?
     
  29. Offline

    KIKONUT

  30. Offline

    WildDruids

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page