Server crashes more and more frequent, now it won't stay up for even 5 minutes

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by LEOcab, Mar 31, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

LEOcab

I've been running Spigot for the past several months. (Spoiler alert: this isn't a Spigot question.) For the past few weeks I've been experiencing frequent server crashes for no apparent reason. It got to a point where the server wouldn't stay up for longer than a few hours and would crash, usually right after a player login (not the same player, not the same world, and no correlation between login coordinates).

Eventually I went to the Spigot forums for help, to no avail. I removed every non-essential plugin, still crashing. Then I decided to dump Spigot and run regular Bukkit. It worked fine for a few hours (certainly longer than Spigot did) but then it started crashing again. And again, and again, and again. Yay, now I can bug you guys about it. ;)

Here's the latest crash report:
    http://pastebin.com/RNb71RJq

As you can see, it complains about the server running out of memory thanks to a horse, and there were only 2 players on. I have almost 5GB allocated to the server so I don't see how that's happening. I was monitoring the server chat as well as top (it's a Linux VPS). The last I saw was one player complaining about lag and falling off the world, while top claimed Java was using 100% CPU and 96% memory. Memory usage normally starts out low and grows a little every day, but I've never had problems with the server crashing due to memory limitations before. I've certainly never seen it reach that high of a percentage under normal circumstances.

It should be noted that I haven't made any software or hardware changes to the server between the time when it was running normally and the time the crashes started to happen. I had been using the same version of Spigot and the same plugins for roughly a couple of months.