Script Plugins, what do you think?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by H2NCH2COOH, Jan 15, 2013.

?

What do you think about script plugin?

1. I'm an admin and I'm smart. Only scripts can fully express my talent.

1 vote(s)
    8.3%
  2. I'm an admin and I don't brother myself with scripts.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I'm a plugin developer. A good script plugin will help me with my development.

3 vote(s)
    25.0%
  4. I'm a plugin developer and I can't see any use of script plugins.

8 vote(s)
    66.7%
Multiple votes are allowed.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

H2NCH2COOH

I created my first bukkit plugin as a script plugin. Just after I uploaded it to the Bukkit Dev, I found out there are at least half a dozen other script plugins (and they are all better then mine T_T). So I get curious about people's attitude towards script plugins. Do you like script plugins? Do you know any? …

2. H2NCH2COOH
    Script plugins are definitely helpful and help save time when testing code which is great.

I wouldn't put yourself down by saying all the other plugins are better, for one yours supports Ruby, i don't think many other do, as far as I know anyway.

3. Offline

raGan.

I think good script plugin can replace many simple plugins, and that is very useful. I know and use only CommandHelper, which is way too good to not be used. You can literally run your server only with CH installed.

4. Offline

RainoBoy97

CommandHelper and Skript :)

5. Offline

H2NCH2COOH

100+ viewings and only 5 votes? This isn't providing any practical information…

I used to think that script plugins should provide full freedom which requires a powerful script language, but now I'm thinking that maybe simplicity plus just enough freedom will do.

EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.

Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2016
    CeramicTitan likes this.
  6. Offline

Ne0nx3r0