Saving/loading hasmaps with locations?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by CevinWa, Jul 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

CevinWa

Im pretty new to coding and i've got a problem.
    When i try to save my HashMap<Location, ArrayList<Block>> it won't go using slapi. i think i need some method on converting Location to string and block to object but im not shure about how to do so and i know nothing about sereilizeable or what is it called. Really helpful if someone took the time and helped me with this. :D
    And im thanking you just for wathing this.
    //Cevin

2. you cant actually convert an streing to an location reliable, becayuse the world may be unloaded at the moment of your atempt, the same goes for block, you actually need to store the x,y,z,and the world name, and then you have al objects that arew serezizeable, so you can use the slapi to store them to a file

3. Offline

CevinWa

How do i store the x,y,z and the world name?
    And don't you have to get them back later and get them back into the location hashmap or something. thank u for helping me :d

4. He just told you, in a string.... separated by a character like ; or something.
    And then just use string.split(";") to get an array of them and then just re-create the location... pretty easy.

5. Offline

Cowboys1919

Then use another character to separate different blocks like "|"

example file "worldname;14;80;22|worldname;73;97;14" and so on,

6. Offline

CevinWa

But im like noob on this. Don't understand, is there a tutorial on doing this? cuz I really whan't to learn it.
    searched google but found nothing.

7. Cowboys1919
    It's alot of data to be manually stored and loaded, we were suggesting on how to make Location be serialized for use in object writer.

CevinWa
    You also shouldn't store Block there... you'll need a string that holds X/Y/Z too, without world because I assume it's the same world as the key locatino's world.