Running 3 servers on same computer with different IP's

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by ibab, Jul 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello.

So I've got a dedicated server and 3 IP's with it. I was hoping to be able to have like play.domain.com for one of the servers, then tekkit.domain.com for the other and so on. So the players wouldn't have to switch through the ports.

What I did, was just open the server.properties and gave each server different ip into the server-ip field. However, after starting up the server, the port was already in use.

I'm not an expert or know much about ports or this kind of a situations. I was wondering if this is even possible and if it is, how can I get each IP their own ports?

2. Offline

TnT

Do you have three different IP's attached to the server?

Moved to the correct forum.

3. Offline

RiotShielder

You need to put each server on a different port, you can't define a port with a subdomain, but you can do domain.com:25565/:25566/:25567 provided your ports are on 25565, 25566, and 25567.

4. Offline

Konkz

What he said.

5. Offline

Wendo

No, he doesn't. If he has 3 IP addresses, then he really doesn't. What he needs to know is if those 3 IP addresses are in fact bound to his server in some way, ideally presented as 3 separate NIC's (or aliases of a single NIC).

If this is a linux host and you have shell access run ifconfig and see what the output is, you should see the three different IP addresses, hopefully as eth0, eth0:0 and eth0:1

If not, you'l likely have to go back to your hoster and get that setup, then you can bind each server to a different IP address/NIC

6. Was on vacation at Turkey, but am now back. Thank you for the replies.
    So basically, I've got a server from OVH (Or actually from Kimsufi) and I bought 2 IP Fail-Over's which are both basically routed to the original IP of the machine.

When I type ifconfig, I will see eth0, eth0:0 and eth0:1