RAM and "Read timeout" error

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by cuddylier, Jun 7, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    cuddylier

    Hello

    Over the last few weeks I have been having problems with my server. After a restart my server uses about 3-4gb RAM. After about 5 hours this RAM level goes up to 8-9gb and eventually to 10gb. When the RAM goes close to 9gb, the server starts to lag massively and eventually ends in "Read timeout" and the server completely freezes up. The RAM just constantly rises no matter how many players are on, I get up to 80 players online at a time.

    Server specification

    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2320 CPU @ 3.00GHz
    RAM: 16gb
    OS: Ubuntu, 64 bit
    Dedicated RAM to server: 10gb
    Wrapper: Mcmyadmin

    Plugins: http://pastebin.com/TtCiyHU1

    Server Logs

    Early signs of the problem occuring: http://pastebin.com/1FHLUasQ
    Problem occurring - read timeout errors and major errors: http://pastebin.com/fgS9Jy6M

    What have I tried?

    • Removing nocheatplus
    • Removing treeassist
    • Removing jail
    • Clearing old lwc protections
    • Removing lottery
    • Removing simplespleef
    • Removing factions
    • Removing craftbay
    I have asked so many people and no one has the answer to my problem. I am offering up to £5 or more for anyone who gives help that leads to me fixing this problem.

    Thanks

    cuddylier
     
  2. Offline

    mindless728

    Honestly, setup a cron job to shut the server down every day then restart it

    EDIT: by shutdown, i meant the minecraft server not the actual machine
     
  3. Offline

    cuddylier

    I don't really want to restart my server about every 5 hours. That kinda covers up the problem rather than fixing it :( I currently do this and it is disruptive.
     
  4. Offline

    Bakuhatsu

  5. Offline

    samschaap

    Its VanishNoPacket, delete it
     
  6. Offline

    Bakuhatsu

    Very unlikely not, runs perfectly fine on my server and I used to have exact same issue as him but as I said above, bad ramstick.

    Edit: Well, not exact when I dug deeper into those logs, but yay for pastebin under heavy load so cannot re-check again...
     
  7. Offline

    cuddylier

    Is there a command on ubuntu for this? I have full access to my dedicated machine.
     
  8. Offline

    mindless728

    well, it would be down to removing the plugins 1 by 1 until you find the culprit then, my server is running 30 plugins and we do this just in case there are issues, 1-2 minutes of downtime are nothing IMO
     
  9. Offline

    Bakuhatsu

    It's pretty much like an OS that you boot up, installed onto the bootloader, cd or usb stick. If you can't do it, ask your host to do it for you.
     
  10. Offline

    cuddylier

    I don't think I can access that, I wouldn't have a clue how to lol. I'll ask my host. I may try removing vanishnopacket as well. Thanks.
     
  11. Offline

    Bakuhatsu

    If that doesn't work... it might also be a form of corruption somewhere on the world which when people enter the area both cpu and ram load goes insanely high and freezes everything. A good way to test this is running a test server with same plugins but whole new world. If it still happens, new world and no plugins. If it still happens it's something bad with java/other software or the server hardware.
     
  12. Offline

    cuddylier

    I copied my main server and couldn't reproduce the issue. It only happens with like 60-80 people online it seems when the RAM actually rises so far.

    My RAM has just gone from 7gb to 5gb with 45 players online...It seems a plugin is getting used and when it isn't the RAM goes down. Question, which one? :(

    Anyone else have any other ideas on what may be causing it?

    Here is the output of /gc

    Code:
    22:37:51 CONSOLE: [INFO] Maximum memory: 9,102 MB
    22:37:51 CONSOLE: [INFO] Allocated memory: 6,909 MB
    22:37:52 CONSOLE: [INFO] Free memory: 444 MB
    22:37:52 CONSOLE: [INFO] World "world": 86535chunks,7847entities
    22:37:52 CONSOLE: [INFO] Nether "world_nether": 850chunks,137entities
    22:37:52 CONSOLE: [INFO] World "world_the_end": 0chunks,0entities
    22:37:52 CONSOLE: [INFO] World "pvp": 0chunks,0entities
    22:37:52 CONSOLE: [INFO] World "pvpworld": 4577chunks,1042entities
    22:37:52 CONSOLE: [INFO] World "hg": 650chunks,399entities
    I also have a lot of these:

    Code:
    CONSOLE: [WARNING] Can't keep up! Did the system time change, or is the server overloaded?
    I've noticed the RAM kinda goes up when people are more spread out in the different worlds, are all the world chunks loaded or something? Anyway to maybe keep only certain chunks loaded or anyway to reduce the RAM used by this?

    Anyone else any ideas?

    Edit: The server just randomly kicked everyone for no apparent reason..

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  13. Offline

    Whiterin

    Garbage collection/memory leak issue. Use this script and it should resolve the issue for you. A friend that has been running servers for a while passed it onto me. Modify the ram amount after Xmx as you need:

    screen java -server -verbose:gc -Xmn4G -Xms8G -Xmx14592M -XX:permSize=128m -XX:+UseConcMarkSweepGC -XX:parallelGCThreads=7 -XX:+CMSParallelRemarkEnabled -XX:+DisableExplicitGC -XX:MaxGCPauseMillis=500 -XX:SurvivorRatio=16 -XX:TargetSurvivorRatio=90 -XX:+UseAdaptiveGCBoundary -XX:-UseGCOverheadLimit -Xnoclassgc -XX:UseSSE=3 -XX:+UseLargePages -jar craftbukkit.jar
     
  14. Offline

    cuddylier

    I use mcmyadmin so I can't use this..
     
  15. Offline

    Whiterin

    I have no idea what mcmyadmin is. lol. You can't manually put in the startup script? That's the only way I know to resolve the issue unless you want to schedule a restart every few hours.
     
  16. Offline

    cuddylier

    Nope, mcmyadmin has it's own built in start up script which you cannot edit.
     
  17. Offline

    Whiterin

    Oh... well... that sucks then. Haha, I don't know what to tell ya then. Sorry. :/
     
  18. Offline

    cuddylier

    Yeah :( I still think one of the plugins is causing this memory leak. The question is which.

    Anyone know if any of my plugins are known to have a memory leak?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  19. Offline

    Toxic__Waste

    the worst plug in you have for memory is towny in combination with chest shop by far... you need to be able to use hat start up script to garbage collect i run up to 50 players and hit 10 gbs after a couple hours but the java gc works and keeps the server going ive been up now for 18 hours and at 11gbs and running smoth
     
  20. Offline

    cuddylier

    Only if mcmyadmin would allow It :( I'll try speaking to the developer. Unfortunately my players love towny so I can't remove it.
     
  21. Offline

    Toxic__Waste

    hell no i could never remove towny either they would revolt
     
  22. Offline

    cuddylier

    Any other ideas, would getting a SSD even fix this problem? I had 85 people on tonight and the server started to have massive lag spikes, the RAM wasn't rising for the first time ever, it stated at around 7gb for like 2 hours. What else can be the problem?

    Anyone else have any resolutions? I seem to have solved the RAM problem but there is lag spikes about every 5 minutes, anyone know a resolution for this?

    Would this be a hardware issue at all, the lag spikes? If it is I can upgrade but my server cost will go from £43 to £135 a month and I don't want to make a massive mistake.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  23. Offline

    cuddylier

    Anyone else have any idea? Tonight this happened http://pastebin.com/2K1c9ZSB . Everyone got kicked and the server had a kick fest then the server just died, went "Read timeout" continually.

    After a full map scan, nothing of it is corrupt. The journey to find what is causing the lag spikes continues...

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  24. Offline

    cuddylier

  25. Offline

    DaFastRapper

    By reading your paste bins, it seems to either be an error with BoseEconomy or your server needs more RAM. I suggest removing BoseEconomy, but store all the saved data and check if the error dissapears. If that doesn't work, try clearing up some space by removing useless plugins and excess used space. Write back to me after you try the BoseEconomy removal, it will most likely work. Glad to help!
     
  26. Offline

    cuddylier

    The only reason BoseEconomy says that is because the server has gone to read timeout and it auto detects lag :( Any other ideas? I have more than enough RAM.

    Would upgrading my server stop this? It's getting a bit tiring the server crashing so much, mostly every 2-5 hours :(

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  27. Offline

    DaFastRapper

    Before you go and spend money, try to free up some space by remove some unimportant plugins to clear up space.
     
  28. Offline

    cuddylier

    The problem is i've tried removing nearly every plugin and nothing has worked. I've always been told theres nothing wrong with my hardware and it's good. There must be a stray plugin i'm missing because I bet if I upgrade this exact error will happen.
     
  29. Offline

    DaFastRapper

    Try removing the bukkit recommended build and having a fresh default minecraft server jar for now and see if it works.
     
  30. Offline

    cuddylier

    I can try it but it would cause disruption for a few hours. Since I now seen to get an error that I have too many files open, I'll try expanding my limit on open files, it says it cannot open a certain world chunk because there are too many files open.

    I uninstalled mcbans today, no difference in the RAM usage. It is rising from 2gb to 8gb needlessly. Apparently using that garbage clearing start line won't do anything with the RAM usage. Anyone any other suggestions for plugins to remove? I have basically removed all the major ones. It must be a minor one causing the problem, but which? :(

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page