[POll] Is LogMeIn Hamachi Good For Starters To Host A Server?

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by jca2323, Oct 15, 2011.

?

Is LogMeIn Hamachi A Good Way For Starters To Host A Server

Poll closed Oct 29, 2011.
  1. Yes

8.7%
  2. No

91.3%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

jca2323

Please Vote!

2. Port-forwarding will always be best, in my opinion.

3. Offline

Hesse77

There is no reason to use Hamachi. Everyone can portforward. And it will give you so many more players!

4. Offline

sukosevato

Nope. its horrible and totally unnecessary.

5. Offline

agafaba

Depends on your definition of "starter"
    I would say yes, but then again I have a lot of experience with people who would have to be shown step by step how to port forward.

6. Offline

dxwarlock

but then again, if the basics of port fowarding are beyond someones ability...running a server may be biting off more than they can chew.

I mean it as no offense to anyone, I assure you. But hear me out.
    if the task of forwarding your ports is beyond your scope of technical knowledge, then most of bukkit, plugin setup/troubleshooting issues, knowing how to report plugin bugs correctly so you are not just posting in threads slowing the dev down trying to figure out what your talking about, and general server day to day activities will be a nightmare for someone.

It would be akin (to me anyway) to someone going "im not quite sure how to use a toolset, but do you think rebuilding my cars engine on my own would be a good idea"

if you dont know the bare basics of how the tools you use to do the work, then the job itself will be an uphill battle.

Id say study up on port forwarding, understand what ports are, how it ties into a server, why you need to port forward. look up how much bandwidth its going to suck up (to hopefully avoid more 'why do we lag so bad with 5 people? i have a 1Mb upload!!!' post) and start from there.