Plugin Dev for coders?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by feverdream, Jan 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

feverdream

I dev code for a living but dont work withy Java often, is there a doc or list or something I can look at that will tell me what I need to get started coding plugins?

I'm not intereated in titorials for Java; I already know it. What I am asking for is things like the IDE/compiler you guys are using, Codeing style recommendations (camelCase or strHungarianNotation?), or Plugin Best Practices.

Thanks.

2. Offline

pendo324

3. Offline

feverdream

4. Offline

croxis

Eclipse for Java Developers.

hintss likes this.
  5. Offline

Tahkeh

Really? That's what your supposed to download? :confused:

I use Classic, because that had the most downloads when I was choosing which version to get.

hintss likes this.
  6. Offline

feverdream

Yeah and some people complained to me about needing the EE version.. so its not as cut and dry as one would think.

7. According to the Bukkit wiki you need "Eclipse IDE for Java Developer", at least that's what they recommend.

8. Offline

Ben S

I develop using the build for Java Developers. However to build, I use maven as recommended.

9. Offline

jthort

I use notepad

hehe

10. Offline

coasterman10

Eclipse is a common and fully-featured IDE for Java development. I don't believe there is any requirement to get a special version, just get the regular download. You will also need the Maven integration plugin.

IntelliJ is another very good IDE that you may be interested in.

11. Offline

1Rogue

Eclipse is garbage.

get Netbeans or IntelliJ, or hand-write your code in calligraphy. Just don't bother with eclipse.

12. Offline

jthort