Solved NullPointerException when calling Block.setType

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by jrlambs, Feb 4, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

jrlambs

Hi everyone, I'm an experienced Java developer, but brand new to Minecraft/Bukkit plugin development. I've seen few youtube videos where people do things like change the block type every time someone walks on a block.. so while I'm learning how to do things I thought that would be simple/fun thing to implement in a plugin.

I've gotten a few basic things to work (increase player speed every time they fill a bucket).. things like that.. but every time I try to interact with a block I end up with a NullPointerException, I've looked through examples and can't see anything different they're doing so I almost wonder if it's a setting I need to change on the server.

This is the function I have right now.

@
    Code:
    @EventHandler
        public void onPlayerMoveEvent(PlayerMoveEvent event) {
            Block blockUnderFeet = event.getFrom().getBlock().getRelative(BlockFace.DOWN,1);
            getLogger().info(blockUnderFeet.getType().toString());
            if (!blockUnderFeet.isEmpty()) {
                blockUnderFeet.setType(Material.COBBLESTONE, true);
            }
        }
    Every time this code runs it results in the following exception
    Code:
    org.bukkit.event.EventException: null
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$1.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:320) ~[spigot-1.15.2.jar:git-Spigot-800b93f-e911c70]
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:70) ~[spigot-1.15.2.jar:git-Spigot-800b93f-e911c70]
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.fireEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:529) ~[spigot-1.15.2.jar:git-Spigot-800b93f-e911c70]
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:514) ~[spigot-1.15.2.jar:git-Spigot-800b93f-e911c70]
    Caused By:
    Code: