[MISC] CraftProxy 0.2.0 - Reduce bandwidth use by caching chunk data [1.6]

Discussion in 'Archived: Plugin Releases' started by Raphfrk, May 1, 2011.

  1. Offline

    Raphfrk

    CraftProxy - Reduce bandwidth use by caching chunk data
    Version: 0.2.0

    Description

    This plugin and local client allows chunk data to be cached locally by players. This reduces the bandwidth required for hosting the server. It also helps users who are on slower connections.

    I am not sure what the status of this system is. It doesn't count as a plugin, since it has 2 parts.

    Even when running the plugin, players who don't use the client proxy can still connect. However, they will use the full bandwidth.

    The system can reduce bandwidth by 70-90% (after the 2nd login).

    Setup

    Server

    Add the plugin file to the plugins folder

    Client

    Start minecraft client and login
    Double click on the client jar file
    Enter login details
    Enter the server location/port in the GUI
    Press start on the GUI
    Connect to localhost on the minecraft client

    Stable Builds

    None yet

    Dev Builds

    Warning: These may not be stable

    Client
    Plugin

    Had it get the compress/decompression gain backwards.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2016
    Jushy, Martin1704, Nathan C and 24 others like this.
  2. Offline

    HadrienM

    Server sent bad handshake packet id-1

    Well, i'm really not feeling lucky with this plugin xD
     
  3. Offline

    Soryo

    I'm sorry... I still can't figure this out... I've been at it for a loooong time, but nothing I do seems to work. For me or my friend.

    This is my config file...
    Code:
    clientversion=
    bridge_connection=true
    reconnectfile=
    monitor=
    seed=
    cache_limit=
    default_server=(my IP):25564
    quiet=true
    debug=false
    listen_hostname_port=20000
    password=
    auth_off=false
    log=
    banned=
    info=false
    dimension=
    staticlocalhost=true
    disable_flood=false
    
    my GUI proxy's config file
    Code:
    connect_hostname=(my IP)
    listen_port=25564
    connect_port=25565
    I've also substituted my IP for localhost to see if that would work.

    I've read your faq and every post in the forums, I just don't know what I'm doing wrong... I re-downloaded it as well (version 41).

    btw... happy you put in the GUI config file "listen_port" and "connect_port" as your descriptions in the forum confused me since it said different things on the GUI... I wasn't sure what was what sometimes.

    Using these, the plugin and the GUI version both create CPL_cache files... they're just not populated. When I use the GUI, it says
    "server started"
    "Connect to localhost:25564"

    Maybe a video tutorial as an above post suggested would be good =/ . One for the server and client user?
     
  4. Offline

    Cid

    Code:
    proxylite.txt:
    
    clientversion=
    reconnectfile=
    monitor=
    seed=
    cache_limit=
    default_server=207.210.252.12:23456
    quiet=true
    debug=false
    listen_hostname_port=25565
    password=
    auth_off=false
    log=
    banned=
    info=false
    dimension=
    staticlocalhost=true
    disable_flood=false
    
    Code:
    Server.properties:
    
    level-name=world
    hellworld=false
    spawn-monsters=true
    online-mode=true
    spawn-animals=true
    max-players=8
    server-ip=207.210.252.12
    pvp=true
    level-seed=
    server-port=23456
    allow-flight=true
    white-list=true
    spawn-protection=16
    auto-heal=default
    Now depending on how I try to connect through the GUI I get two different messages.

    I get Unable to connect to Server Backend

    I get Game Outdated

    Looks like forward progress... a nice tut on how this needs to be set up is on the way once I get mine working.. :)

    Where do I go from here?
     
  5. Offline

    Joy

    About 40 MB. I don't move around much tho, will have more feedback from other users in some days I guess :p
     
  6. Offline

    Raphfrk

    Did you log out and back in when testing. It is the 2nd (and later) logins that gets the benefit.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2016
  7. Offline

    codename_B

    Make sure you're using the latest version on both the client AND the server - I was using an outdated version on my server and got that error consistently.

    I would love it if you could at least try that for me :D It seems like you have a fairly good idea how you'd go about it.
    Sending the same chunk twice would be absolutely fine! (or say you didn't have the chunk on disk you'd wait for it to be cached on disk from the server and THEN send it to the client.)

    That would also allow this to be used without any modification on Vanilla, hMod, Canary, MCServer, craftD, and all the other minecraft server variations around... That might actually warrant this plugin becoming its own project on sourceforge (or you starting a website for it) as it'd be something that would be used by anyone on a slightly slower connection to massively decrease their chunk loading lag.

    It might just be me but I <3 this idea.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2016
  8. Offline

    Raphfrk

    I can already be run as a stand alone .jar file, so you can use it with any server.

    Using it as a plugin is just for convenience.
     
  9. Offline

    Soryo

    Yes. I'm getting my friend to test the player side, and I'm testing the Server with the GUI proxy as well. Nothing seems to work. I've been trying to follow all the instructions given.

    Tried with default configurations and it did not work, however the default configuration conflicted with what you said. So I did as your instructions said and changed the connect_port to 20000. No luck
    Trying both of the above options again with my IP in the default_server as such.... (my IP):25565..... Doesn't work...
    trying all the above with my default_server as 25564 and (myIP):25564.

    I've tried to do the configuration for the ports with every possible combination I can think of using the parameters given.

    But from what I can gather... in the Plugin config file the default_server=25564 corresponds with the local Server Name's port which is the Listen_port..
    And the listen_hostname_port=20000 corresponds with "Server Name"'s Port which is the Connect_port.
    I've flip flopped the parameters in the config files both ways just in case I got it wrong, but it still doesn't work.

    Excuse me as I go stab a puppy.
     
  10. Offline

    codename_B

    Yeah but atm the standalone .jar file is no use without a server with the plugin - changing it to have the capability I suggested would make this entirely possible!
     
  11. Offline

    Raphfrk

    Before you do that, looks like I had the defaults set wrongly.

    It should now work with just the defaults.

    plugin:
    Code:
    default_server=25565
    listen_hostname_port=20000
    
    GUI
    Code:
    connect_hostname=localhost
    listen_port=25564
    connect_port=20000
    
    You then connect to localhost:25564 in your minecraft client.
     
  12. Offline

    MineralMC

    Couldn't get this working, get a ''server outdated'' error. Everything was correctly set up in accordance to the guidelines set out in your post. Running CB740, latest RB.
     
  13. Offline

    Raphfrk

    Are you using the latest, I just updated?
     
    MineralMC likes this.
  14. Offline

    MatCat

    It does work for me but keep getting d/c'd with errors like array out of bounds, etc. Also it blocks all keybindings in Improved Chat, doesn't really make sense why but it does.
     
  15. Offline

    Kane

    I use a crap load but I do have 5tb. I could see this being amazing for people who run it on their cable / dsl lines.
     
  16. Offline

    FIX94

    OMG this plugin makes a dream come true for me! I have a UMTS connection with a 5GB limit, then the speed will be like 56k! This would make everything much better for me, I will try it tomorrow on my private server!
     
  17. Offline

    Raphfrk

    Don't see why it would affect key bindings.

    If you get array out of bounds errors, post the errors/stack trace. It gives exactly where in the program the problem occurred.
     
  18. Offline

    FIX94

    I now tried it on my local test server and I get outdated server message, any ideas?
    edit: I got it to work, I changed the server name port from 25565 (which was in the usage) to 20000 (because the server is listening on this port like said in craftbukkit) and now it works! Why are you saying that it need to be 25565 on a local server then?
    edit 2: AH! Your usage is a bit confusing because it's saying from 25565 to 25564, so I thought I need to enter 25565 in the first port field and 25564 in the second, solved :D
     
  19. Offline

    KrazyBonez

    wow i posted LAST NIGHT on page 4, and here your on page 6, and ignored my post, all i wanted to know is what material your wiki meant, but obviosly you just dont want to answer me or what? not cool, you answer everyone else and fill 2 more pages of posts but cant answer mine half way up page 4...ill continue to wait even longer for your reply when you answered people who posted after me....so unfair
     
  20. Offline

    Cid

    He is getting hammered by questions and requests. I was in the same boat, thought I was being ignored but I reposted and he finally got back to me.

    be patient and repost the issue if you think you need to..

    BTW, bump my post plz. I still haven't recieved an answer from my latest post, but answer krazy first. ROFL
     
  21. Offline

    KrazyBonez

    I just want my members to have permissions to use his portals, but the permissions file for that is so damn complicated, i dont know what the gate types are...isnt there any way i can just add a node to my REAL permissions file? and if not, what are the gate types so i can manually add 150 users on 2 different computers, which will be a real pain :(

    and @Cid he answered a guy who posted right after i did on page four, which makes me think he did see it and probly only looked at the top half, which is why we need to read things fully :p

    And the creator goes offline without answering me, when i pmed him 5 mins after his last post, great...:(
     
  22. Offline

    MineralMC

    There we go, I must've grabbed it at a bad time! Excellent concept, hoping to use it to increase the speed of chunk loading when using my server's rail network!

    I really can't blame him at this point. You are coming across as mildly psychotic. Ask your question again (if you haven't already - I only read your latest post) and wait patiently for a response. The thread has calmed down a lot since yesterday, so you've got more chance of being seen.
     
  23. Offline

    Cid

    there is a newer version now so I am going to start from scratch tonight when i get home. I will see how things go and report back if I have any trouble..

    Simple concept really, I think the wording within the client-side GUI is what is confusing me the most.

    cheers.
     
  24. Really Proud of you Raph ( Nice name :D I also have that name ) It Works ! -24% saved with 1 person online ! GReat!
     
  25. Offline

    MineralMC

    Any chance of a version of this plugin that isn't affected by craftbukkit's /reload command? It works a treat, but boots anyone who uses it when the server is reloaded (which makes perfect sense).
     
  26. Offline

    Raphfrk

    Actually, -24% saved is bad :).

    There was a bug (uploading a fix now), where you needed to shut down the GUI and restart it for it to cache the old data.

    It should work now. I was getting +70% saved.

    Also, sorry about not replying, was trying to fix the bug.

    I read your post as "problem solved", and went to the next one. I wasn't ignoring you. However, remember plugin authors write the plugins because they like coding, not because they have to. Also, I didn't go offline to ignore your PM.

    I assume when you are asking about gates, you mean Server Port, that is a separate plugin. You can actually make gates made of any blocks with custom files.

    Hmm, good point. Actually, the latest version has a bug fix where it didn't reload correctly.

    The Bukkit API kind of requires plugins to reload. It wipes their class files and creates entirely new ones.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2016
  27. Offline

    MineralMC

    Also, would I be able to start the proxy downstairs on my HTPC and allow multiple clients to connect to it? Like a bouncer? Or is it only one client only?
     
  28. Offline

    Raphfrk

    I updated the GUI slightly.

    That should work. It should allow multiple connections. The client and server versions are the same program.

    Also, you can run the proxy as a separate program.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2016
  29. Offline

    Faust

    Raphfrk could you update the main post so we can see change log for the latest release and thanks for the hard work, You've been fixing bugs and adding features very quickly..
     
  30. Offline

    MineralMC

    So would it be possible to run the proxy on the same computer as the server, and have clients connect to that? That way, a /reload wouldn't disconnect them, surely?
     
  31. Offline

    KrazyBonez

    Yes but i have the nether gate made of obsidian, if you would like i can repost this in the serverport thread but your the author of both so i dont know if it matters :p

    Would the gates type be considered nether, obsidian, or sign?

    And i didnt think you went offline to avoid me, it just happened in bad timing lol
     

Share This Page