Minecraft modding API

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by Qentus, Nov 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Qentus

So, I am a minecraft server admin and I just heard about a release date of Minecraft MOD API.

What will happen to Bukkit?
    What will happen to Bukkit plugins?
    Will there be any bridge for bukkit plugins not rewrited for MOD API?

Thanks for answers

2. Offline

chakyl

Well first of all, there is no release date. Everything that has been said so far is based on rumors and speculation.
    Second of all, when the API is released, it probably won't be very good, and Bukkit will still be developed until the API is somewhat decent.

3. Offline

minecrafterwork I steal plugins as my own

4. Offline

TnT

5. Offline

rustymetal

jtjj222 likes this.
  6. Offline

Noxis

According to what EvilSeph mentioned at MINECON, Bukkit will cease to exist after the API has been released.

7. Offline

TnT

More specifically, the Mojang API has the goal of making all existing API's unnecessary, as they want to have all features current API's provide built into Minecraft.
    As I said, we will have to see what the API looks like before we get ahead of ourselves.

rustymetal likes this.
  8. Offline

Shadowwolf97

Wait what? Why would they do that? :x
    Seems a bit unnecessary to replace Bukkit with a Mod API...
    Bukkit has been working on APIs since it started. while Minecraft Server requires mods.