Inactive [MECH/ECON] Showcase v0.8.1 - Create visual shops by spawning drops on slabs [1.1-R5]

Discussion in 'Inactive/Unsupported Plugins' started by narrowtux, May 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    narrowtux

    [​IMG]
    Version 0.8.1​
    As supposed in this thread, I created a plugin that lets you put items into glass blocks (now steps, it's notchs fault) to showcase them. This is useable for shops, to show what's for sale there, or to make clear what type of farm you built.
    Features
    • Showcase all items in a half-step Block
    • Block protection (you can't break the step block and the block below it to prevent that the item falls down)
    • Multiworld
    • Items in a showcase can't be picked up
    • Only the player who created a showcase can remove it
    • Prevents despawning of items (Normally, drops disappear after 5 minutes)
    • You can setup finite and infinite shops
    • DropChest support (disables DropChest for absorbing the showcased items)
    • WorldGuard support (works out of the box)
    • Localisation
    • Can show custom item names through BukkitContrib
    • Economy support:
      • iConomy 4 & 5
      • BOSEconomy
      • Essentials Economy
    Download & Source-Code
    Download Showcase.jar
    Browse Source-Code on Github
    You will need an economy system if you want shops.
    This will install NarrowtuxLib automatically!
    Please donate, if you really like this ;)
    Videos
    Show Videos (open)





    When you have got issues, please read this:
    Issue Report (open)

    1. Please, first check if you have got the most recent version of Showcase and the most recent recommended build of Bukkit.
    2. Then, check if the bug is already listed in the "Known Bugs" section.
    3. After doing step 1+2, report the bug with at least this information:
      • Version of Showcase
      • Version of Bukkit
      • If possible, a step-by-step explanation of the bug
      • If possible, console errors
      • When you think that this has got to do with another plugin, please list all your plugins like this:
        • PluginA, PluginB, PluginC ...
    This will be incredible helpful for me to fix it faster.


    You don't actually have to retype everything I typed here, but if you'd take it as a guideline which content you should include in your issue report, it's more helpful ;)

    Please, don't come here just to say "This doesn't work.". This says nothing.


    Usage
    Adding a showcase
    1. Start sneaking!
    2. Right-click a half-step block with the item in your hand you want to showcase
    3. An assistant will ask you which type of Showcase you want to add. Type the text before the colon :))
    4. Depending on the type you chose, the assistant will ask some extra questions, follow the assistant to finish showcase creation.
    Removing a showcase

    1. Sneak
    2. Right-click on a showcase. If this was a finite showcase or an exchange showcase, you will get your items back.
    Permissions


    ActionPermission-NodeWithout Permissions
    Create a basic Showcase.showcase.basicPlayer
    Create a infinite shop Showcase.showcase.infiniteOperator
    Create a finite shop Showcase.showcase.finitePlayer
    Create an exchange Showcase.showcase.exchangePlayer
    Buy from a finite shop showcase.showcase.buy.finitePlayer
    Buy from an infinite shop showcase.showcase.buy.infinitePlayer
    Removing a showcase of other players.showcase.adminOperator

    The column "Without Permissions" explains which user-type can use this permission when no Permissions system is installed.
    What are shop showcases?
    A shop showcase can be used to sell items to your players. There are 2 types of shops now:
    1. Infinite shop. This one has an infinite amount of items. The money that the players give to buy an item will go to nirvana
    2. Finite shop. This one has that number of items which the owner has set up. The owner will get the money from which the items were bought.
    How can a Player buy items from a shop showcase?

    1. Click on the Showcase. The price per item and the available amount will be displayed.
    2. Type in the number of items you want and hit enter. A message will show you the success of the checkout.
      • Type 0 to abort checkout
    How can you refill a finite shop showcase?

    1. Click on it
    2. Type in the amount of items to refill. Negative values will remove that amount from the showcase.
    3. Walk away or type 0.
    Commands

    The showcase command handles manual saving and loading
    /showcase save
    Saves the items to showcases.csv
    /showcase load
    Loads the configuration, translation and items without saving (Use with caution)
    /showcase reload
    Saves and loads everything after that. Useful when some items aren't in place and you want to quick-fix that.

    Configuration
    The configuration file is auto-generated and is called showcase.cfg
    Here are the configuration possibilities:
    • basicmode : this decides if the plugin should operate like in version 0.2 or before (Just the basics)
    • priceforbasic : this adds a price to the basic showcases
    • priceforfinite : this adds a price to the finite showcases
    • priceforexchange: this adds a price to the exchange showcases
    • removewhenempty: when set to true, a finite showcase will be removed when it's amount hits 0
    • showcaseprotection : turn this to false to be able to remove showcases from other players (griefers) (you should now use WorldGuard instead of this one ;) )
    • locale: standard is en-US. The german translation which is included in the jar-file is de-DE. If you type that in, it will copy the german file from the jar to your plugins folder
      • You can change the translation very easily by editing the existing locale.
      • Colors are supported, just add something like [GREEN] or [DARK_RED] to the text.
      • You can add newlines with \n
    • autosaveinterval: the time between two auto-saves in seconds. Standard is 60 secs. Use -1 to disable autosave.
    Translations

    Currently available translations:
    Changelog

    Version 0.8.1
    See the whole changelog

    Todo
    • Spawn multiple items in the same glass block (up to 4, would be aligned nicely)
    • Verify that there is no free space below the glass block before adding a showcase
    • Maybe let the showcase glow when you placed torches, glowstone or lava in it
    • Custom messages (aka localisation)
    • Sell-Showcases
    • DropChest support (so the items inside the glass won't be absorbed by a Dropchest)
    • Limit the amount of Showcases per player
    • Add a price that the creator of a showcase has to pay (there would be an independent price for each basic, infinite and finite showcases)
    • Linking infinite shops to banks (money spent for items goes there)
    • Rent a showcase for money/day
    • Autosave with configureable interval
    • Commands for save, load and reload
    Crossed items are already done!

    Known bugs
    • This plugin conflicts with some chat-altering plugins (i.e. bColoredChat) this is because the authors don't know how to correctly set up the priority of events.
    • Normal players (the ones that aren't operators) can't use showcases that are in the spawn-protection area. Either disable the spawn protection or place the showcases to an other location (Disable spawnprotection by setting "spawn-protection-size=0" in the server.properties file)
    • With the latest dev preview (not the recommended build), you're able to make slabs to double steps. I've got to investigate until they propose it as RB.
    • ATM, Showcases won't save enchantments. So please just don't try to sell yours because that wouldn't work either.
     
  2. Offline

    GmK

    And you didnt read what I said - if you use the 1.6.5 client with the 1.6.4 cb, the items do not stay in the blocks when making a showcase. With 1.6.4 client and 1.6.4 cb it worked fine.
     
  3. Offline

    narrowtux

    Oh, yeah :(
    Seems I'll have to change block types now ...
     
  4. Offline

    Ratchet

    damnit. stupid notch
     
  5. Offline

    defthefirst

    Hi again,
    Right click ? i would use that to prevent my players to build too many showcase... by protecting only a place. nwm.
    I got your src to translater in french, i compiled with external jar:
    -Bukki
    -Craftbukkit
    -Dropchest
    -Iconomy
    -Permissions
    -Register
    No warning, but when i try to run i get this error:
    Show Spoiler
    11:24:10 [GRAVE] Could not load 'plugins\Showcase.jar' in folder 'plugins':
    java.lang.reflect.InvocationTargetException
    at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance0(Native Method)
    at sun.reflect.NativeConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Source)
    at sun.reflect.DelegatingConstructorAccessorImpl.newInstance(Unknown Sou
    rce)
    at java.lang.reflect.Constructor.newInstance(Unknown Source)
    at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader.loadPlugin(JavaPluginLoader.j
    ava:172)
    at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.loadPlugin(SimplePluginManager.
    java:194)
    at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.loadPlugins(SimplePluginManager
    .java:117)
    at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftServer.loadPlugins(CraftServer.java:101)
    at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.e(MinecraftServer.java:218)
    at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.a(MinecraftServer.java:205)
    at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.init(MinecraftServer.java:145)
    at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:265)
    at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:394)
    Caused by: java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/nijikokun/register/payment/Method
    s
    at de.moritzschmale.Showcase.ShowcaseServerListener.<init>(ShowcaseServe
    rListener.java:11)
    at de.moritzschmale.Showcase.ShowcaseMain.<init>(ShowcaseMain.java:43)
    ... 13 more
    Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.nijikokun.register.payment.Meth
    ods
    at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
    at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
    at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
    at org.bukkit.plugin.java.PluginClassLoader.findClass(PluginClassLoader.
    java:36)
    at org.bukkit.plugin.java.PluginClassLoader.findClass(PluginClassLoader.
    java:24)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
    at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
    ... 15 more

    But, an there i dont understand, if i had "IconomyChestShop" in the plugin folder (not as external source), i can run showcase...
    Any clues ? i just want to translate assistant in french :D.
    Thanks,
     
  6. Offline

    Cazza54

    hey umm well im confused i dont get it i click it and with sneak and it comes up with the modes and stufff and i dont get how to use

    O i get it sorry

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2016
  7. Could you please make it so you can't just create showcases anywhere? Currently this does not obey protections like WorldGuard regions, so anyone can just place a showcase block anywhere...it should not allow creation of showcase blocks in an area where that person is not allowed to place blocks normally.
     
  8. Offline

    narrowtux

    You'll have to include the Register.jar as "just Jar". Or try to copy the src folder from Register into mine. I just didn't add it to the git-repo.
    WorldGuard support is on my todo list ;)

    Release v0.5.11
    • Changed type to half-steps because of notch's fix in 1.6.5
    • On startup, all your showcases will become "shelves" (so the glass blocks will be converted into half steps)
    I will remove the protection of the block below it soon, because this is no longer necessary.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2016
  9. Offline

    cholo71796

    I've never used this plugin, but have you tested the conversion for glass blocks that are on top of another glass block (is it possible to put a showcase on top of a showcase)? It's possible that they would collapse and form a double step. Again, I do not know because I have not even downloaded the plugin.
     
  10. Offline

    narrowtux

    It wasn't possible to put a showcase onto another, but I don't think that they would collapse.
    The problem with steps is also that items also would fall through them, if there is a non-solid block below it (air, flowers, redstone, etc.). So I won't be able to disable the protection of the block below the showcase, although it would really be cool to create real shelves that are stacked.
     
  11. Offline

    Jan Tojnar

    All glass blocks or only showcases?
     
  12. Offline

    cholo71796

    I would imagine just showcases- the plugin already has data of where all of them are, so I think it would just be a matter of setting the block type at those coordinates.
     
  13. Offline

    narrowtux

    Yep, just the Showcases ;)
     
  14. Offline

    IncendiaDrakon

    Would the latest version still work with CB766?
     
  15. Offline

    Ratchet

    Code:
    2011-05-29 18:00:30 [INFO] Creating showcase.CraftBlock{chunk=CraftChunk{x=18z=-1}x=299y=73z=-5}
    2011-05-29 18:00:30 [INFO] Creating showcase.CraftBlock{chunk=CraftChunk{x=-2z=-58}x=-17y=68z=-914}
    2011-05-29 18:00:30 [INFO] Creating showcase.CraftBlock{chunk=CraftChunk{x=-2z=-58}x=-18y=68z=-914}
    2011-05-29 18:00:30 [INFO] Creating showcase.CraftBlock{chunk=CraftChunk{x=-16z=-25}x=-246y=97z=-396}
    getting a LOT of this every time the server starts, is it really necessary?
     
  16. Offline

    Mentioum

    very nice. Will use this if I know you will keep developing it?
     
  17. Offline

    Mathew Rogers

    I think this is great! Just what a good economy needs!
    Only one thing.. You should allow a choice between using a Step or a Glass block to showcase the item.. Some people prefer the Step, others prefer the glass.. You shouldn't have removed the glass, but perhaps added an option to let users select which will be used in their servers.
    I personally love the look of the item Inside the glass, rather than on the step..
    PLEASEPLEASEPLEASE Put the glass back in Aswell as the step.. [glass] <3
    Other than that, just get righ of those ANNOYING lines in the command EVERYTIME it loads up.. (as Ratchet said).
    3.5/5 - Good, but removed functionality, LOADS of potential, and annoying lines in the command interface on startup
    .
    EDIT: Also unhappy it only works with 1.6_4, when CraftBukkit has only been reccomended up to 1.5
     
  18. Offline

    HungryBagel

    Here's a small logo-ish thing to show my appreciation for your great work on this, and I hope you will continue to update it.

    [​IMG]
     
  19. Offline

    Mentioum

    glass blocks were removed as notch removed items being able to be present inside glass.

    I have a solution to the problem cause by not having it in glass. How about this.....

    When you shift right click on a half step... it places the item like usual.
    Then it removes the half step (so you cant see it but remembers the location so it can keep the item there)
    Then tie the block underneath it to the clicking interactions.

    This would allow you to see the items again, and keep functionality.

    What do you think?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2016
  20. Offline

    BindMind

    This.

    Please, this would be FANTASTIC on my server.

    EDIT: Oh, and the items seem to appear INSIDE the blocks rather than on them... Which is why I don't like them =/
     
  21. Offline

    narrowtux

    Yes ;)
    Sorry, they are removed next release...
    You mean that there shouldn't be any half step? Should be possible, I already thought about a configureable option with allowed block types. This still requires some extra work, though.

    Oh, now I get it...
    If you play with minecraft 1.6.5, the items are just fine on the half step, but I assume you are all still on MC 1.5?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2016
  22. Offline

    Zenithas

    Hmm. Pity about Notch fixing the glass. But I'll look into this.
     
  23. Offline

    BindMind

    Ah, yes I am. That would probably be why :p

    I guess I'm going to have to wait awhile. I'm waiting for the recommended build of craftbukkit, just in case y'know?
     
  24. Can this be fixed?

    Code:
    11:42:05 [INFO] Wrong location! net.minecraft.server.EntityItem@219
    11:42:05 [INFO] -2115.5,-2256.5(-133,-142) vs -133,-141
    11:42:05 [SEVERE] java.lang.Exception: Stack trace
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at java.lang.Thread.dumpStack(Thread.java:1342)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.Chunk.a(Chunk.java:367)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.ChunkLoader.a(SourceFile:181)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.ChunkRegionLoader.a(SourceFile:42)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.ChunkProviderServer.loadChunk(ChunkProviderServer.java:132)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.ChunkProviderServer.getChunkAt(ChunkProviderServer.java:62)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftWorld.getChunkAt(CraftWorld.java:92)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftWorld.getBlockAt(CraftWorld.java:60)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftWorld.getBlockAt(CraftWorld.java:448)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.Location.getBlock(Location.java:72)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at de.moritzschmale.Showcase.ShowcaseItem.<init>(ShowcaseItem.java:45)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at de.moritzschmale.Showcase.ShowcaseMain.load(ShowcaseMain.java:241)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at de.moritzschmale.Showcase.ShowcaseMain.onEnable(ShowcaseMain.java:106)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPlugin.setEnabled(JavaPlugin.java:125)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader.enablePlugin(JavaPluginLoader.java:750)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.enablePlugin(SimplePluginManager.java:253)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftServer.loadPlugin(CraftServer.java:132)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftServer.loadPlugins(CraftServer.java:110)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.e(MinecraftServer.java:218)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.a(MinecraftServer.java:205)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.init(MinecraftServer.java:145)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:265)
    11:42:05 [SEVERE]       at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:394)
     
  25. Offline

    Xemnas33

    Aside from removing everything from the showcase is there any other way for the owner to check the stock?
     
  26. Offline

    Mathew Rogers

    .
    I'm also liking the idea of removing the step, and putting the commands into the block below!
    .
    I'm running both 1.6_5 and 1.5, so I'm testing on both, however my broadcasted server (my main one) is running 1.5 and CraftBukkit 803
    I prefer using Reccomended builds rather that 'Untested and Unsupported' builds
     
  27. Offline

    Mentioum

    OH it sits on top of the half step after the update!!?! Awesome - that was my whole suggestion haha. It would be nice to make it invisible too... so that people could make their shops look how they want. I wonder if there is a better way to select a block type so that you can almost choose anything :).

    I still would like to have it so you can make a block invis though (i.e air) after selecting it :)
     
  28. Offline

    Veka

    Would it be possible for you to make it so you can pay wiith items from your inventory?
     
  29. Offline

    Chasingu

    Is it possible to use this just to contain items. Then somewhere else have a sign shop sign?
     
  30. Offline

    BindMind

    Why would you dumb down such a wonderful interface with signs? o.o
     
  31. Offline

    Chasingu

    Cause I already have everything else set up with signs, it would be inconsistent.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page