Linux Flavors

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by Sayshal, Oct 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Sayshal

I'm about to get a new server computer, and I wanna try Linux. Which one do you recommend, and why?

2. Offline

Zaros

Ubuntu. Its simple, its light, you can deal with out being terminal savy and it has awesome names.

3. Offline

Sayshal

Is it the fastest. ( I learn quick so I dont mind hard-to use plus I have mcmyadmin so it doesnt really matter.)

4. Offline

Vhab

Some hosters praise FreeBSD as the new messiah when it comes to hosting MC.
    It sounds plausible.

@Zaros : There's nothing particularly wrong with Ubunutu, but I wouldn't want to call it light..
    It's certainly one of the more bloated distributions out there, which isn't inherently a bad thing considering the audience they go for.

5. Offline

Zaros

I'm no linux expert, but we have a server running apache, murmur, mysql and minecraft with 10 players and 15 plugins at about 300 mb. Imo thats really good.

6. Offline

Vhab

It's not bad. My point was rather that Ubuntu is not particularly known to be lean and mean.
    Not saying Ubuntu is bad or even bloated, but it's certainly bloated compared to other distributions with a high focus on having only the bare essentials.

7. Offline

croxis

Ubuntu is a very good one to start with. I'm not sure bloat is the right word -- the entire os AND a nice program suite fits on one cd. Compare that to Windows Vista/7/8 or OSX

8. Offline

3ric

No one has made an OS specifically for running a Minecraft server yet?

:p

9. Offline

Vhab

*facepalms*

No.. just no.
    The size on a CD is completely irrelevant. Especially considering that's mainly to get it installed and pull the rest from the web. You'll need several dozen DVDs to fit the entire repository of available software for Ubuntu.