Solved Keeping an entity from being removed.

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by CoderMusgrove, Jan 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

CoderMusgrove

So I have an entity that I would like to keep on my server, even if it's out of view for all players or if no players are online, and I have searched up on it. In conclusion, the option that I see left is reflection in nms. I am new to both of those.

So I started to create my reflection method, which what I want it to do is override the remove() method inside of CraftEntity, but I don't know what to do beyond taking in account the Method.
    Code:
    try {
        Method removeMethod = CraftEntity.class.getMethod("remove");
        removeMethod.setAccessible(true);
    } catch (Exception e) {
        e.printStackTrace();
    }
    I've been searching this for quite a while, and people mostly say to just extend the class and then override the method, but that's not an option at the moment..

From this point, how would I override the method? What I plan to do is since I have a List of Entities, I would say "if this entity is not in the list, then you can remove."

If anyone else knows of a better way, please tell me. :D

2. Offline

Jogy34

Changing out a method with reflection is extremely tricky. I think it's possible but I'm not completely sure and either way I have no idea how you would go about doing it.