Java Profiler results...

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by Zachar543, Aug 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Zachar543

(I'm not sure where I should put this question as I don't really see a place for it.)
    I have been programming java for 1 year or so (C# and Lua for 3-4 years before) and this is really the first time that I have picked up a java profiler. (after noticing that my server's CPU usage was pretty high for the number of players online)
    Would running the profiler cause all operations to take an abnormal amount of time? I have found some, what I believe to be, large numbers for some methods...

Code:
    net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.World.doTick(): 2,615ms (4 calls) (26% of the 75% CPU usage)
    org.bukkit.craftbukkit.util.LongHash.containsKey(int, int): 920ms (1 call) (9% of the 75% CPU usage)
    net.minecraft.server.World.save(boolean, IProgressUpdate): 910ms (1 call) (9% of the 75% CPU usage)
    net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run() ->
                 -> Thread.sleep(long): 5,193ms (7 calls) (53% of the 75% CPU usage)
    net.minecraft.server.BlockStationary.a(World, int, int, int, Random) ->
                 -> Random.nextInt(int): 783ms (1 call) (8% of the 75% CPU usage)

These all combine together, plus more, to use around 75% of my 2.5GHz processor (VPS) with an average of 4 people online... Even when there isn't a profiler running. Is this in anyway normal? Should these numbers be this high or are they being slowed by the profiler?​

2. Offline

Supersam654

Can't you figure out what your processor usage is without running a profiler? Also, what version of Bukkit are you running? Although your CPU usage is very high, knowing what your CPU usage is when Minecraft isn't running and when the profiler isn't running would be very helpful. Also, I ask about your bukkit build because some (older) versions of Minecraft have been known to be HUGE processor hogs.

3. Offline

Zachar543