Increase stack sizes

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by andrewginn, Apr 5, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

andrewginn

Hello I am new to coding and I want to code a plugin so I can get used to all the events I have to use, I came across this plugin and I was wondering if anyone could give me a jump start, please don't spoonfeed me that's the last thing I want to do, just someone give me a heads up on how I can get closer to my goal for this plugin. What I was wanting to do is change the stackamount for a certain item.

Thanks for all the help!

Last edited: Apr 5, 2016
  2. Offline

WolfMage1

isn't there a setAmount method in item stack?

3. Offline

mcdorli

Yeah, but if you pick up and place down ab overflowed stack, ut splits up.

4. Offline

andrewginn

@mcdorli Yeah I saw that except I cannot find anything on the web on how to put that into a method

5. Offline

mcdorli

How do you mean you don't know how to put it in a method?

6. Offline

andrewginn

For instance I could make a class extend the javaplugin and all, make the public void and I dunno how I would make it so when the bucket enters the players inventory it scans for others of the same material and then stacks them. I don't know how to put that into code.

@mcdorli

7. Offline

mcdorli

You need a playerpickupitemevent

8. Offline

andrewginn

@mcdorli I will try and test for a bit

9. Offline

DoggyCode™

I think you could achieve this nicely by modifying one of the packets (idk which xD).

10. Offline

andrewginn

11. Offline

DoggyCode™

Packets are basically the only access we have to modify the game.

You can find a list of them here: http://wiki.vg/Protocol (they allow you to do client side cool stuff)

12. Offline

andrewginn

Ahh okay I understand @DoggyCode™