I need some example code.

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Daniel Heppner, Mar 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Daniel Heppner

As some of you know, I'm making a plugin that will kick someone when they say a certain word. I'm still learning Java but I really want to make this plugin and it should be simple, so could I please have a small example of how to use the onPlayerChat?

I really need to learn more Java... But this it important for me. :)
    My first plugin; I hope I'm not bothersome with all these requests.

Daniel.

2. Offline

retsrif

In your onEnable method:
    Code:
    PluginManager pm = getServer().getPluginManager();

//I assume you have a PL named playerListener
    pm.registerEvent(Event.Type.PLAYER_CHAT, playerListener, Priority.Normal, this);

In your PlayerListener:
    Code:
    public void onPlayerChat(PlayerChatEvent event) {
      //Gives you the message the player tries to send
      String msg = event.getMessage();
    }
    Ask if you want more details. :)

3. Offline

Daniel Heppner

Great,
    Thank you! Now, how do I go about searching a string for one of the values in an array? Rather, how do I search the person's message for a string from an array of strings. I need it to check each of the strings.

I've got the kicking and stuff working, all I need is for it to check the user's message for one of the "bad words."

4. Offline

AchillePomeroy

Are you saying you have an array of bad words, and want to compare the string to this array? I'm not sure on how you implement it with this set up...
    I'd do it more along the lines of making the message into an array of words, and iterate over that array, comparing it to each bad word.

Assuming you've got the message using the bit of code in a couple posts above:
    Code:
    String[] str = msg.split(" ");
    for (i = 0, i < str.size(), i++) {
        String s = str[i];