How to create a plugin using the PEX api?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Lanuk, Feb 4, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Lanuk

So I want to create a plugin that allows a player to rank up by say doing a certain command using PEX. The problem is, how do I access the PEX API so I can make a plugin that does this? Do I need to add any libraries? I am pretty new to this so sorry if I make no sense.

2. Offline

number1_Master

i believe you have to add it to your libraries
    do you mean permission nodes?
    for that u just have to do player.hasPermission("permission.node.here");

3. Offline

Lanuk

Oh ok, and no, I want to be able to mess with groups. Also, I looked online and wasnt able to find the API to put in my library, any ideas?

4. Offline

Perdog

Vault, it allows you too hook into permission plugins that they support, and I think they support PEX. This will also make your plugin more flexible, as it'll hook into other perms if the admin doesn't use PEX

5. Offline

Lanuk

Oh hey perdog, long time no see. Thanks, ill look into that

Alright, so I know this is a silly question, but how do I resource vault so my code understands what a vault is?

EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.

Last edited by a moderator: May 23, 2016
  6. Offline

Perdog

On the BukkitDev page for vault, they have a very small tutorial on how to initialize the perm variable that you want. If I can recall I think it's something like

In your main class:
    Code:
    //create a variable like this
    public Permission perm;

//then in your onEnable() put this method, make sure it's called before any listeners that will be using it, or else you'll get an NPE
    setupPerms();
    then somewhere in your main class create the setupPerms() method:
    Code:java
    1. public booloean setupPerms() {