Solved Help with simple problem

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Strahan, Mar 26, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Strahan

Hi. I'm a newb to Java. Just decided to learn how to make plugins. I'm sure I'm making some dumb mistake, but I can't figure out what I'm doing wrong here. I figured I'd start with something simple as my first plugin; you type /chat and the server chats with you. I had it do a String.join on the args so I can just switch on the joined string and catch stuff like "/chat how are you" easily. I decided to add a "choose" command where you can pass it items and have it make a choice like "/chat choose bk kfc fiveguys bww" and it would randomly choose one. Joining strings is not helpful for that so I figured I'd throw an IF in there and check if args[0] is choose, otherwise go to the joined part. Seems simple. But for some reason, every time I every time I do the command I get the "uhh i have no idea" thing as it fails the if check for choose and falls through to the joined part where it doesn't match any known chat option. I had it tell me what it sees as arg[0] just before the if and it said in chat "args0 is |choose|". I put the | | to see if it was padding or something. So I cannot figure out why the if statement I bolded below fails.......?

Code:
    public boolean onCommand(CommandSender sender, Command cmd, String label, String[] args) {
        if (sender instanceof Player) {
            Player player = (Player)sender;
            switch (cmd.getName().toLowerCase()) {
            case "chat":
                Random rnd = new Random();
                if (args.length == 0) {
                    SendChat(player, "Not much to say, huh?");
                } else {
                    Boolean chatted = false;
                    SendChat(player, "args0 is |" + args[0] + "|");
                   if (args[0].toLowerCase() == "choose") {