HA Bukkit Servers?

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by ambientmf, Nov 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

ambientmf

Has anyone set up two or more Bukkit servers in a high availability way? For example, having an active and standby Bukkit server, using the standby to update builds and plugins, then performing a switchover with minimal impact?

I would have to imagine a need for this with the largest servers with 100's of users. Does anyone know if this is technically feasible? I work in computer networking so I wonder if the same concepts of high availability, stateful switchover and redundancy could be applied to a couple of Bukkit servers. Maybe hosting the world file over NFS and mounting it in the root folder of multiple Bukkit servers? (forgive me, I'm only a Linux novice so I'm not even sure if that's possible to do)

Just something I thought about today, waiting for the next Bukkit build and planning my next server deployment :). Anyone else have an opinion?

2. Offline

LEOcab

I'm running both a 1.0 vanilla server and my old 1.8.1 server at the same time. Peeps who don't care about the update can work on their stuff while all the n00bs who upgraded without thinking of the consequences can still play. :p

3. Offline

mindless728

technically could be doable, but you need to sync the servers, route traffic automatically, and other fun stuff

i don't know if the utilities for this exist yet, but google is a good place to start

4. Offline

ambientmf

I don't expect to find any automagic tools or utilities, as I'm sure the average Joe like me wouldn't need such a setup.
    I could definitely see this being used by the Minecraft server hosting companies. It would be pretty powerful to have one logical Bukkit server span two or more multiple physical (or virtualized) servers in an HA setup.