Getting Data from other plugins [no API's]

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by stargateanubis14, Jan 11, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I'm trying to work on a web interface for users to view all their data online. This is fairly simple to do for plugins using MYSQL, but i'm also wanting to get data that is stored in other plugin's folders... (such as users saved locations, town settings, etc etc)... the problem is, there's no API.

I'm fairly new to plugin and java dev, but i catch on pretty fast.
    So if anyone has any ideas to try, lemme know.

Again, all i want is to be able to read from basic config/data files, to get a result (from there i can pass info to where it needs to go)

THANKS!

2. If the plugins themselves don't offer their data willingly, you can process the configs manually but that's not really a good method because you must get the convertor for each version of each plugin you support, and that's alot.

It's doable tough.

3. Does your webserver have access to all the files? (Like the config.yml files.) Then you can just make your own file reader and read the config's yourself.

4. @Digi
    Hrm... i was hoping it would be a BIT easier (mainly because i'm a complete nub, and haven't much time to figure all that out).
    I was hoping to do something like:
    Code:
    <otherplugin>.getConfig().getString("string to look for", "default value");
    Normally <otherplugin> would be 'this'... i was hoping it would be someway like that to check.
    No, my web server doesn't have access to the files on the MC server (2 diff things). I'm using another plugin to send data to the web server (and then updating that way).

5. Offline

wwsean08

you could use reflection to read their data, though reflection is a pretty advanced topic in java, and hard to understand in my opinion. If you don't mind ugly code check out reflection here

6. @stargateanubis14