[EDIT] BioMed v0.7.1 - Change those biomes! [1.4.7-R1.0]

Discussion in 'Archived: Plugin Releases' started by Karl Marx, Jan 10, 2012.

  1. Offline

    Karl Marx

    Introducing...
    BioMed v0.7.1
    Control the biomes of your world!


    BioMed enables you to:
    • Convert sections of any map to a different biome!
    • Convert whole maps to the same biome!
      • Good for creative & flat world maps!
    • Regenerate map sections with a different look!
      • Generate your own mushroom islands!
    • Thaw your spawn!
    • Freeze your spawn!
    • Spawn nether mobs in a normal world!
    Plugin & source available on bukkit-dev:
    http://dev.bukkit.org/server-mods/biomed/

    Changelog:

    v0.7.1
    • Updated to CB 1.4.7-R1.0
    v0.7.0
    • Updated to CB 1.4.2-R0.2
    v0.6.1
    • Small bugfix from v0.6 - no longer requires WorldEdit to load.
    v0.6
    • Updated to CB 1.3.2-R1.0
    • Improved stability with ill-behaving plugins.
    v0.5
    • Updated to CB 1.3.1-R1.0
    v0.4
    • Re-added global biomes.
    v0.3
    • Updated for minecraft 1.2
    v0.2
    • Updated for minecraft 1.1
    v0.1
    • Initial release.
     
    nicom1997, Firestar, mrWAF and 3 others like this.
  2. Offline

    Emiya Shirou

    FINALLY!! GOD BLESS YOU!! Omg I've been waiting for a plugin like this one for all eternity and beyond that. I will test it out a lil later when I have some free time ^.^
     
    thexcal and zcleaver like this.
  3. Offline

    ieatsofas

    So what does changing the biome really do if it does not change the leaves/water/grass color?
     
  4. Offline

    Karl Marx

    It modifies behavior. Different mobs and weather mostly. I use it to keep my spawn from freezing.
     
  5. Offline

    Ondechoc

    THANKS !! but is this possible IN A OTHER WAY to change the color of the grass/leaves ? Do you know a client mod that can do it ?
     
  6. Offline

    Karl Marx

    None that I've ever seen. I plan on adding it later, but you'll need spout.
     
  7. Approved
     
  8. Offline

    jotebu

    So it is possible to set an area with worldedit and change the biome to mushroom island?
    And if we build up an island with mushrooms and mycelium on the ground, mushrooms are able to grow on there own + the giant mushrooms?

    That would be very nice, because we have a map with a radius of only 1500 blocks and there is no mushroom island on the map.
     
  9. Offline

    Karl Marx

    You can use this plugin to trick WorldEdit into altering the blocks it places when you use //regen. There's no need to place mycelium, it's generated automatically, as are mooshrooms. The giant mushrooms don't come out quite right though- all of the block faces have the "inside" texture on them. To do it you just have to:
    1. Select a region slightly larger than what you want to become your "mushroom island" (it doesn't have to be an island, btw.)
    2. enter "/biome set-selection mushroom shore". This will set a boundary to keep the mooshrooms from escaping.
    3. shrink your selection a bit, leaving a small border around all sides.
    4. enter "/biome set-selection mushroom island" to create the island itself. The order you create these in is important, since they overlap.
    5. re-expand your selection to include the border again.
    6. Enter "//regen" and WorldEdit will regenerate the chunk, but as a mushroom island.
    Note: this will still generate the same terrain shape as a normal //regen would; it just changes the block types- not positions. You therefore can't use this in the middle of the ocean, as your island would be underwater. If you try it on an older map, you will probably also create a completely mis-matched chunk from the surrounding terrain- use selectively. Also be aware that using //regen on the same selection multiple times starts to mix the biomes together in weird ways, even with an undo in-between (it's some kind of bug in WorldEdit, I believe.) Anyways, now that we have eggs for spawning mobs, you might just be better off only changing the biome, re-decorating by hand, and then populating the island with mooshrooms manually.
     
  10. Offline

    jotebu

    That sounds great!
    Thanks for the detailed description.
    We will try it this weekend, after backuping the world.
     
  11. Offline

    jotebu

    Everything worked perfect. We now have a huge mushroom island.
    Thanks again for the detailed description.
     
  12. Offline

    Karl Marx

    You're welcome! Good to see someone else is getting some use out of it.
     
  13. Offline

    Darkhand81

    Is there any way to select entire biomes? i.e, change the current biome you're standing in to another biome, altering everything within it at once, but leaving everything outside it untouched?

    I'm trying to get rid of snow in my starting area (by changing its taiga biome to forest) but don't want any ugly regions of missing snow in Dynmap. If it were possible to alter an entire biome at once...
     
  14. Offline

    Karl Marx

    Nope.

    I originally wanted to implement things this way, but there's no practical way to implement it with the methods currently used. I'll continue to look into it when I can, but don't get your hopes up.
     
  15. Offline

    Hanseath

    I'm attempting to make a remake of the map from a game and part of it is a swmp, is there a way to get the area to change grass colors and water to change color to look it?
     
  16. Offline

    Karl Marx

    Not currently.
     
  17. Offline

    Hanseath

    alright, thank you, hope that gets added soon =)
     
  18. Offline

    Liam_McGregor

    I generated my world with NullTerrain (http://forums.bukkit.org/threads/wgen-nullterrain-v0-4-1-generate-empty-worlds-1060.27362/). I have proceded to populate it with land and structures. However, my spawn is directly next to a taiga biome and a desert biome is hemming me in on another side. When I use the /biome get command, everything works fine (although it returns an internal error when between biomes). However, the /biome set command gives me a long list of errors after a [Severe] message in the console. Also, when I load the server, it gives an error about the WORLD_INIT file not existing. Is there a way around this? I'd be happy to provide the exact error message if you'd like.
     
  19. Offline

    Karl Marx

    These bugs interest me. What version of craftbukkit/biomed are you using? I will need to see the errors to really help you- preferably server logs.
     
  20. Offline

    Darkhand81

    Drat. Thanks anyway! :)

    I actually had a dream about this issue (lame!)... I've been looking at different polygon fill implementations since then, treating the biome like a polygon and 'filling' it with the new biome.
     
  21. Offline

    Liam_McGregor

    I'm not sure of the version number, but I downloaded BioMed on 1/14. NullTerrain is version 0.3.1. The server is running Craftbukkit version git-Bukkit-1.0.1-R1-42-gfd7b223-b1720jnks (MC: 1.1) (Implementing API version 1.1-R1-SNAPSHOT). It's a non-recommended build so I understand if this is what's causing the problems.

    There's a lot of info so I attached a .txt file with console info, etc.
     

    Attached Files:

  22. Offline

    Karl Marx

    You forgot your file...

    If' you're running a 1.1 compatible build of craftbukkit, make sure you're using version 0.2 of BioMed, from the in-dev section at the bottom of the project page on bukkit-dev. Otherwise, you will need to download the normal 0.1 version from downloads.
     
  23. Offline

    Liam_McGregor

    For some reason, the file won't show up. However, no need! I updated to the in-dev 0.2 version and everything works WONDERFULLY! Thank you so much! A great plugin indeed.
     
  24. Offline

    ROBERTLEEOBRIEN

    hello it says

    "An Internal error occured while attempting to perform this command"
     
  25. Yeah; the plugin needs updated.
    It says the biome has changed however when I turn on rain it doesn't snow.
     
  26. Offline

    Karl Marx

    Make sure you have read the ENTIRE main page for the project on bukkit-dev. You probably downloaded the wrong version for whichever version of craftbukkit you are running.

    From the project page:

    Misc

    It is a known problem that changing a region's biome does not affect the color of grass/leaves/water. The graphical features of biomes are generated on the user side, and cannot be affected through a server plugin alone. Likewise, the server only reports "weather" to the client, making no distinction between rain and snow. Changing a forest into ice plains will cause it to snow, but it will continue to look like it is raining. A client side (spout) mod to fix this is planned, but has not yet been started.

    Run the command "/biome get". If it reports back the biome that you were trying to change things to, then it worked, you're just experiencing the graphical problems noted on the front page. You may also need to download the other version to match whatever build of craftbukkit you are using.
     
  27. Offline

    schneidertm

    Code:
    2012-01-24 20:28:49 [SEVERE] Could not pass event org.bukkit.event.world.WorldInitEvent to BioMed
    java.lang.NoSuchFieldError: b
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedChunkManager.<init>(BioMedChunkManager.java:35)
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedChunkManager.<init>(BioMedChunkManager.java:29)
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedPlugin.initWorld(BioMedPlugin.java:83)
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedPlugin$1.onWorldInit(BioMedPlugin.java:52)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$59.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:681)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:57)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:327)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.a(MinecraftServer.java:287)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.init(MinecraftServer.java:175)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:407)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:465)
    2012-01-24 20:28:49 [SEVERE] Could not pass event org.bukkit.event.world.WorldInitEvent to BioMed
    java.lang.NoSuchFieldError: b
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedPlugin.initWorld(BioMedPlugin.java:96)
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedPlugin$1.onWorldInit(BioMedPlugin.java:52)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$59.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:681)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:57)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:327)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.a(MinecraftServer.java:287)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.init(MinecraftServer.java:175)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:407)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:465)
    2012-01-24 20:28:49 [SEVERE] Could not pass event org.bukkit.event.world.WorldInitEvent to BioMed
    java.lang.NoSuchFieldError: b
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedPlugin.initWorld(BioMedPlugin.java:96)
        at me.karlmarx.biomed.BioMedPlugin$1.onWorldInit(BioMedPlugin.java:52)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$59.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:681)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:57)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:327)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.a(MinecraftServer.java:287)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.init(MinecraftServer.java:175)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:407)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:465)
    Is the error because I have WorldEdit 5.1.1, or because I've Bukkit # 1810?

    Thank you for your answer!

    Schneidertm
     
  28. Offline

    Karl Marx

    It appears that you are running the v0.1 build from the downloads page, but you should be running the v0.2 build from the "In-Dev" section, since you are on a 1.1 build of craftbukkit.
     
  29. Offline

    SupaYoshi

    I can see alot of interest in this plugin once Minecraft comes up with this Jungle biome thing! Your plugin is awesome for servers and players not wanting to loose all they're hard work in the world.

    Please update your plugin for 1.2 once it comes out hehe ;) and perhaps 1.1 but if I were you i would put my main focus on 1.2, your plugin could actually become as wideknown as WorldGuard then eventually I think;)
    This plugin is unique and very good.
     
  30. Offline

    Karl Marx

    Thanks for the support!

    The plugin does already support 1.1, by the way; I just forgot to update this thread. Fixed now.
     

Share This Page