Complete Newbie-Setup help

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by Joshua J, Feb 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Joshua J

Hello,

I am at a loss and you are my only hope.

Recently the person who updated and delt with our minecraft server decided he didnt want to do it any more. He sent us all of the login information and bailed.

Our server is running, however After the latest crash, Bukkit is not installed.

I have logged in, according to the former guys intructions, using a program called WinSCP and I can see both the Bukkit and craftbukkit files in an empty folder titled "hmod".

Heres what I need...

As i said im a newbie. I dont want to just have some one do it for me. I want to learn this so someday i can repay the favor. I need some help to find out What our server is running on (bc yall need that info to help ) and then I need some one to walk me through setting up the Bukkit.

I know, its frustrating dealing with newbies, but if you are willing I would accept the help

J

2. Offline

mughi

newbies that are willing to learn are not frustrating.. it's the OTHER ones that are frustrating..
    standby.. searching for links
    do you at least know if you have windows or linux?

(if you don't, we can find out.. )

3. Offline

Joshua J

To be honest, I really don't. The last Guy didnt say. When I browse The File system i dont see any files that resemble windows files.

4. Offline

mughi

it's prolly linux

what is the path to the minecraft folder (eg: mine is: /home/minecraft/bukkit)

however, let's back up a few steps.
    you said there was a crash and it stopped working?
    do you need to re-setup bukkit, or just fix the existing one?
    do you have a world you need/want to save?

5. Offline

Joshua J