Can't connect to server.

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by Wholesomeflame, Feb 4, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Wholesomeflame

I followed the guide that here: http://forums.bukkit.org/threads/how-to-install-bukkit-newb-friendly.245/

It works fine, I just can't connect to it. Anyone help? I'm a total noob at this. Lol.

I'm running:

Windows 7 Home Premium 64
    X86
    Java Version 1.6.0_21 from Sun Microsystems Inc.
    I'm not sure of the version of craftbukkit, it's the one I downloaded from the forum that I learned how to set up a server.

2. Offline

mughi

do you get errors?
    did you open the firewall port?

3. Offline

Wholesomeflame

All I get as an error on Minecraft is "Failed to conenct."

4. Offline

mughi

windows 7 has a built in firewall that a) doesn't seem to be easy to disable completely, and b) doesn't like craftbukkit by default, although it works w/ plain minecraft..

you need to create an entry for craftbukkit to allow it to access the internet and back.

this thread has information that will probably help you

5. Offline

Wholesomeflame

My friend told me to switch to bukkit. The last server thing I used wouldn't let me be an admin so we couldn't build so it was a flop, but people could connect. I don't think the built in firewall is the issue here o.o

6. Offline

Plague

Okay, did you even read the post mughi posted?

7. Offline

Wholesomeflame

I did, and it's about forwarding ports etc. etc.

8. Offline

mughi

right.. and your problem is users can't connect to the server, server has no errors..
    which means either your users are banging away at the wrong server.. or something (firewall/router) is intercepting their packets and keeping them from the server.
    --- merged: Feb 5, 2011 2:14 AM ---
    also, your java is a bit old, but that is probably not the issue

umm.. also.. are you running 64 bit or 32 bit, because your information conflicts.. x86 = 32 bit

9. Offline

Plague