Brand new to SQL. How can I set up my macbook to develop plugins using it? (Complete noob)

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Tecno_Wizard, Sep 15, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Tecno_Wizard

I think the title gets a lot of it. I want to try and use SQL in my newest plugin. I have NEVER used SQL before and there's no better time to learn how to do something.

How can I set up my macbook to play around with SQL in a MC context? I am a broke college student, so I'm not paying anything. Lol.

2. bwfcwalshy likes this.
  3. @Tecno_Wizard You can also install PhpMyAdmin which is a database management tool. You just have that on a local web server and you can very easily create and manage your database. It also gives you the ability to export so that others can easily get the same data structure or so you can get the SQL statements needed to create it in your plugin.

If you ever need help with SQL just let me know ;)

4. Offline

Tecno_Wizard

@bwfcwalshy database management system is native in intellij, . I just needed some advice on setting it up. I saw something called MAMP when I looked around last night?

5. @Tecno_Wizard IntelliJ sucks :p

What do you need to setup? The database or MySQL itself?

6. Offline

ArsenArsen

WAMP or LAMP and then just add the source to IntelliJ. It is fast and simple, for non production cases

I guess MAMP is Mac doe

7. Offline

Tecno_Wizard

@ArsenArsen MAMP is the mac version of WAMP and linux of LAMP. Same thing.

Thanks guys. I'll continue here if I run into any issues.

8. Offline

Tecno_Wizard

Screen Shot 2016-09-18 at 10.29.24 PM.png Screen Shot 2016-09-18 at 10.29.45 PM.png @bwfcwalshy I am unable to log in using any sort of client that isn't provided by the "server in a box" platform MAMP is. (CommandLine and PhpMyAdmin) even when using the provided logins.

EDIT: Whoops. Not sure how I double posted there. I'll wait for tim's bot i guess.

9. Offline

mythbusterma