Solved Best way to learn how to make plugins?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by TheOnlyShad0w, Sep 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

TheOnlyShad0w

So I don't know how to code in any language (beyond doing permissions with PEX), but I really want to be able to make my own Bukkit plugins. It sounds like a good place to start is by learning how to code in Java. I've found this tutorial by thenewboston (http://goo.gl/wQit4), and it seems like a lot of people recommend it, but what I'm wondering is this tutorial for absolute beginners like me, and do I have to watch and learn every single part to know how to make a bukkit plugin?

Thanks.

2. Offline

Devil0s

Penguinaz likes this.
  3. Offline

CorrieKay

unfortunately, yes. You need to learn java before you can learn to use it to make plugins.

"but what about stuff i only need to make plugins?"

Before you ask this, yes, again unfortunately, you need to learn the basics of java just to make plugins, as there are a LOT of basics to learn that you'll use all over the place in a plugin :p

If youre really adamant about learning to make plugins, you'll be able to start looking at it in a few days. Once you learn the syntax and basics of creating objects, variables, utilizing methods and parameters, and how to handle primitives, arrays, (maybe even collections) and operators, then you should be ready. Until then, if you try to jump straight into learning to code a BUKKIT plugin, you'll just confuse yourself :\

That said, if you want, go grab the source of a simple plugin, and use it as a way to explore code while you learn it, and apply what youre learning in a real situation c:

kroltan likes this.
  4. Offline

xImaginex