Armored Zombies Help

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by TheTennessee, Aug 5, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

TheTennessee

Okay, so I am trying my hand at learning to make plugins for bukkit. I figured as a good first simple plugin, I'd make zombies that spawn with armor on. I'd seen it on the wiki that it was possible for them to wear it, so I have been wracking my brain trying to figure out how I would do it. Since I'm from C++, and this is my first time in java, I am -really- confused by inheritance when it comes to these abstract interfaces...

Here's what I thought to do. Since it seems that zombies don't have the ability to change inventory items for some reason, and they can't be type casted to a HumanEntity to do that... I thought I'd create a new class (Or abstract interface as I found out I had to use)... I called it ArmoredZombie:

Code:
    public abstract interface ArmoredZombie extends org.bukkit.entity.Zombie, org.bukkit.entity.HumanEntity{}
    It wouldn't let me add anything new, like functions, but I figured I could still do it. Now, I am trying to make zombies spawn with armor, and I can't get it to work no matter what I do. It gives me type casting errors every time.

Code:
    ArmoredZombie zombie = (ArmoredZombie) e.getLocation().getWorld().spawnCreature(e.getLocation(), CreatureType.ZOMBIE);
    zombie.getInventory().setHelmet(new ItemStack(306));
    zombie.getInventory().setChestplate(new ItemStack(307));
    zombie.getInventory().setLeggings(new ItemStack(308));
    zombie.getInventory().setBoots(new ItemStack(309));
    That's what I am trying to do, and no dice. So, I'm wondering, is it even possible to do what I am trying to do? Is it possible in Minecraft but just not in bukkit? I feel like I am so close and missing something vital.

2. Offline

zhuowei

I don't think zombies have an inventory as they do not extend HumanEntity.