area teleport

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by MattTheBeast, Feb 14, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

MattTheBeast

Hi, I'm trying to get a player to teleport to a random area when he enters a designed area. For example, lets say i have a 3x3 area, when a player enters that area, he gets teleported to a random location that I set.

But it isn't working! I'm pretty new to all this coding stuff so dont blame me. I think the mistake is on the area that i need to enter to get teleported.

here is my code:

public void onNetherPortalEnter(PlayerMoveEvent e)
    {
    Player p = e.getPlayer();
    Random random = new Random();

int NPx = random.nextInt(422) + 418;
    int NPy = random.nextInt(135) + 134;
    int NPz = random.nextInt(284) + 280;

if(p.getLocation() == new Location(p.getWorld(), NPx, NPy, NPz))
    {
    Location teleportLocation = null;

int NPTx = random.nextInt(529) + 467;
    int NPTy = 53;
    int NPTz = random.nextInt(320) + 202;

boolean isOnLand = false;

while (isOnLand == false) {

teleportLocation = new Location(p.getWorld(), NPTx, NPTy, NPTz);

if (teleportLocation.getBlock().getType() != Material.AIR) {
    isOnLand = true;
    } else NPTy--;

}

p.teleport(new Location(p.getWorld(), teleportLocation.getX(), teleportLocation.getY() + 1, teleportLocation.getZ()));

}

I used the PlayerMoveEvent cuz I thought it to be the best option, but if anybody has any other suggestions please mention.

2. Offline

mine-care

Before i start, i want to point out that:
    Don't compare Object pointers with ==, use .equals() instead.

Anyways your code doesn't really seem to be doing what you expect it to...
    Err what are the chances! You create a random location with:
    x between 418 and 839
    y between 134 and 268
    z between 280 and 563
    and then attempt to check if the player is in that location ('attempt' goes for reasons explained above)