AoE in MC? --Basics sorted, anyone interested?

Discussion in 'Bukkit Discussion' started by stargateanubis14, Jan 31, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I started playing AoE 3 again recently, and i started thinking... how can i make MC into an AoE RTS game?
    So, i came up with a few basic ideas:
    Users cant actually build anything. They can break stuff, but if they want to get to a resource, they must find a way to naturally get to it. The way buildings are placed, are by pre-designed buildings in something like WorldEdit.
    When users want to build a building, they must have certain materials in the 'town center' chests, and type a command which will create a building at those coords, and create a worldguard region around it. The region may need an extra stat like "HP", so that when users attempt to destroy it, it loses HP, before the blocks start to be removed.
    For troops, i think users can use the Citizens plugin to make guards for troops (or any other good NPC plugin), which can only be spawned inside of a 'barracks' region.

This is just conceptual and fun to think about at this point. I was wondering if anyone had done anything like it, or felt like delving into the idea more :D
    (i would LOVE to do this, but i'm slightly busy with lots of other stuff :p )
    One of the problems i foresaw was with the building placement. What happens if there's a building there? My way around it, was chunk-by-chunk building placement...then of course, there's the fact that it would get boring, especially because NPC's dont really do much. So it would be a flat limit of number of players (maybe 10v10), all expanding the town.

But a LOT of units can be made in minecraft (artillery->tnt structures, infantry->players themselves and NPC guards, wolves-> [duh] , and maybe even cavalry if you mount something on a spider)