Solved Access methods in different plugin

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Mysticate, Mar 20, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Mysticate

I have a custom currency plugin I created, and it has give-money, take money, etc. methods in it. Now, I need to access those methods in another plugin. I know this is possible, but I don't know how. Thanks!

2. Offline

GameplayJDK

Mysticate
    If you have the .jar, than use it as library and add it to your build path, just like you did with the craftbukkit.jar
    If you don't have it, you can use java reflection

3. Offline

Mysticate

GameplayJDK Yes I know that! I'm not a total noob :p But how would I access those methods?!

4. Offline

Garris0n

Get the plugin with PluginManager.getPlugin() and then cast it to whatever the main class of the plugin is.

5. Offline

Mysticate

garrison ok, but how would I do that? Can you post some code?

6. Offline

GameplayJDK

Mysticate
    You'd import the classes you need and use them

7. Offline

Garris0n

8. Offline

Mysticate

Garrison :eek:

9. Offline

GameplayJDK

10. Offline

Mysticate

GameplayJDK I understand how to get a plugin, but how do you cast it to the main class?

11. Offline

GameplayJDK

Mysticate
    To call a method you have to use reflection since you do not know if there is a method like the one you are looking for in the plugins main..
    But I prefer using it as library.
    It's easier to call a method like that: de.GameplayJDK.AnyPlugin.PluginMain.theMagicMethod("Hello");

12. Offline

TryB4

13. Offline

DrEinsteinium

Mysticate
    Code:
     PluginYouWant plugin = (PluginYouWant)PluginManager.getPlugin("PluginYouWantName");