Solved 1.8.8 Changing Vectors of Projectiles

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Lightcaster5, Sep 4, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Lightcaster5

I understand there are threads explaining vectors, and yes I have read https://www.spigotmc.org/wiki/vector-programming-for-beginners/ before for those who may suggest it. I am very new to using vectors and I didn't know how to tackle a problem I've encountered. My goal is to create three snowballs that launch from a player when the right click their sword. One should go forward, one should go a bit to the left, one should go a bit to the right. Here is snowball creation code I've tried:
    Code:
    for (int i = 0; i < 3; i++) {
        Snowball snowball = player.getWorld().spawn(player.getEyeLocation(), Snowball.class);
        snowball.setShooter(player);
        snowball.setCustomName("ball");
        Vector v = player.getLocation().getDirection();
        switch (i) {
        case 0:
            v.add(new Vector(0, 0, 1));
            break;
        case 1:
            v.add(new Vector(0, 0, -1));
            break;
        }
        snowball.setVelocity(v);
    }

The problem with this is, if a player is looking north or south, it works, though if they look east or west, it turns it sideways. Similarly, when a player is looking diagonally, the snowballs don't line up correctly. I'm sure there is some way to calculate this properly but I still can't figure it out. Thanks for any help, not looking for spoons, looking for ways to accomplish this with my own code and your knowledge.

2. Offline

Kars

First of all i would put the snowball throwing inside of a function that takes the direction relative to the player as an argument. That way you can avoid that ugly switch statement.